timing cover leak on my focus

Status
Not open for further replies.
My 2014 focus Is leaking oil at the timing cover. The guys I work with at the Ford dealer said it's pretty common for them to leak. I haven't worked at a Ford dealer long enough to notice the trend I suppose. It's getting fixed on Tuesday but at 8000 miles I was hoping to have rotated the tires at least once before having to address an oil leak. I am pretty unhappy I've had hood repainted expansion valve replaced a trim piece replaced and now this all in 8000 miles. Hopefully my new car ownership experience gets better soon.

It's funny some people always seem to be having car trouble. I've been driving for 20 years (new cars and hoopties) and I can count the number of car problems I've had in that time without having to use 2 hands.

I have had decent luck over all. But the focus being my first new car I was expecting to own something that would be drama and stress free for awhile

Yup, it happens a lot on the new Foci. They use RTV on the timing cover. Make sure they use new diamond washers, if they don't serious damage can occur.

Originally Posted By: dishdude
It's funny some people always seem to be having car trouble. I've been driving for 20 years (new cars and hoopties) and I can count the number of car problems I've had in that time without having to use 2 hands.

I wish I could say that, and have less years of driving than that. Whats the definition of a problem? Something outside of an oil change, tire rotation, drain and fills and filter changes?

Originally Posted By: 99Saturn
Originally Posted By: dishdude

I wish I could say that, and have less years of driving than that. Whats the definition of a problem? Something outside of an oil change, tire rotation, drain and fills and filter changes?

Pretty much. I'd exclude bulbs, tires, brakes and rotors too.

Last repair I can remember was a window regulator in an F-150 I bought a few years ago, before that I can't remember.