1991 Buick Park Avenue oil and fluid specs and....

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: SJohnson
If that has the 3.8 engine, it's the same one I have in my '96 LeSabre. I use mostly 5W30 or 10W30. Mine takes 4 qts. Do you know if the upper and/or lower intake manifold gaskets have been changed? Mine went bad around 140K. Started leaking coolant into the oil. It's a known problem on these engines. It's best to change both when it needs to be done.

I thought these early 3.8's didnt have that issue?

Well, I'm no expert or authority by any means, but mine did and according to these websites, it looks like there are quite a few.

http://www.autorepairinstructions.com/?p=37

http://forums.edmunds.com/discussion/144...-leak-cheap-fix

http://www.aa1car.com/library/diagnose_buick_3800_engine.htm

Last edited:

If that has the 3.8 engine, it's the same one I have in my '96 LeSabre. I use mostly 5W30 or 10W30. Mine takes 4 qts. Do you know if the upper and/or lower intake manifold gaskets have been changed? Mine went bad around 140K. Started leaking coolant into the oil. It's a known problem on these engines. It's best to change both when it needs to be done.

I thought these early 3.8's didnt have that issue?

Well, I'm no expert or authority by any means, but mine did and according to these websites, it looks like there are quite a few.

http://www.autorepairinstructions.com/?p=37

http://forums.edmunds.com/discussion/144...-leak-cheap-fix

http://www.aa1car.com/library/diagnose_buick_3800_engine.htm

I may have misunderstood what you meant by "early models" I see his is a 1991.

If that has the 3.8 engine, it's the same one I have in my '96 LeSabre. I use mostly 5W30 or 10W30. Mine takes 4 qts.