Parenting decisions - rethinking the last year.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Don't know whether this is a vent, asking for advice, or just dumping stuff out there that I've been mulling over for 12 months...12 months ago next weekend, everything turned to whoop.

Daughter was performing down in Sydney at "School Spectacular", and my then partner (now wife) was down with her as a parent helper for three days...Son and I "bached it", I had a couple days off, so I could drop him off, do stuff and be home when he walked home from school...belt tennis balls up the back lane (lose them and discover advanced retrieval techniques), BBQ ribs over charcoal, watch old lost in space B&W videos.

Saturday morning, 30th November, we hopped in the Nissan, and drove down to the big smoke to pick the women folk up...we would get there in time for a light dinner before their final performance, and drive them and a friend's kid home...Sunday was to be another big day, it was the rite of passage school camp where grade 5 kids all go to an island camp for a week...bus left at 6AM, 5 hours home and our daughter was to be off on another adventure.

On the way down to get them, my phone was in and out of reception, but when we got down the mountains, and reception improved, multiple missed call, and multiple messages from my brother, frantic.

Found a spot to park, phone message bank tag for about 5 minutes.

Dad had taken his .22 out to the shed while my Mum was in the shower, and suicided...not quite successfully, as he was on life support, and fading...family wanted me there...would have had to dump partner and kids in Sydney, not going to happen (4 hours by car, 8 by other means), so suggested that he never wanted to be on life support, had intentionally gone down that path, and so to respect both of his wishes, let him go.