So, Fram filters...why the bad rap?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Bud
I have been changing my own oil and filters for 51 years. The first 40 of those I used the OCOD as my filter. Used all kinds of oil, and mixed oils as well. I can't believe I am still alive. I mean, I probably should have been taken out by an exploding engine or something. I guess I was just living on the edge. But gotta say, I do love this forum.

Thank God you switched in time! You could have been killed! There is a reason they are called the orange can of D E A T H...
crackmeup2.gif

I have no Frams in my stash right now except for a single Extended Guard that is yet to be used.

I have run Tough Guards to 10,000 miles and Extra Guards to 8000 miles. Since 1971 I have driven maybe 1,250,000 miles in personal and company cars. At least 40 of the filters used were Frams of one kind or another. I have never had a Fram filter fail, and that says a little.

I use Fram Ultra on my Honda and my Toyota. My Ford Ranger has had Fram Extra Guard on it since I bought it in 1995. Not one issue.

My Sonata uses a Hyundai Filter

Originally Posted By: bammer5609
That is exactly why Fram uses them, they are cheaper, and when you manufacture millions of them, that is a lot of money saved. Is it a bad thing, nope, they seem to work just fine. As I said, I never meant anything toward Brian, I am just saying that just because a person sees something that they do not like dose not make the end product they are looking at any worse then any other similar product.

You are right that FRAM's construction is cheaper.

But at retail, FRAM oil filters are not the least expensive option out there.

That has always been the discussion surrounding the FRAM OCOD.

You could always buy a more substantially constructed oil filter for less.

I'll add my $0.02....