Plug wires

Status
Not open for further replies.
My Dak finally needs them. The old ones (original) test out fine for resistance, but the insulation is worn & they're starting to arc. So...before I drop $92 at a dealer, who has GOOD ones? Ideally, not from China!

After re-reading your post, I realize I am too tired to be posting. Wires, not plugs. Since it won't let me delete my post, I would say NGK. But that is strictly opinion, I have no experience with them.

Ngk on rockauto.com

Denso works too.

Avoid "lifetime" wires at all cost. I was in a bind and got some, first were defective, second [censored] out in 200 miles, third set has 5k on them and seems to be doing well.

I always go japanese for ignition parts, japan, german, aussie, canadian, and US for everything else.

Last edited:
I put a set of Prestolite Pro-Connects from RockAuto on my Durango with the 5.2 early last year and I have had no issues with them. I believe prestolite makes the wires for some of the OEMs although I am not sure which one's. I notice RockAuto has some for your Dakota on Wholesaler Closeout.

Denso, NGK, Bosch, AC Delco, Delphi, Beru are all good. I have also used Autolite Professional and Duralast with no problems from either.
I used Duralast on a PITA Toyota that used waste spark and 3mm thin wires for 2 plugs, they break not matter what brand is in there.

The Duralast worked fine and looked well made, next plug change one broke as expected, i took them down with no receipt.
They asked for my tel#, said okay and handed me a new set no questions asked. I cant knock that.

Originally Posted By: Jarlaxle
Are they from China?

I am not sure. Check out their website. They indicate on their website they are the OEM for Ford, Chrysler, Honda, and Nissan. To me they appeared to be a quality product.

Prestolite