Pennzoil platinum-ultra comparison

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is just a question not trying to start anything. I read some of the Q & A about the the new oil from pennzoil, I have been using amsoil for the last 12 years because i get it a a good price and never had any issues. The buick gets amsoil 5w30 ss and the subbie gets xl 0w20. If there is soemthing "better" on the market i am always willing to try it. I really dont understand all the numbers or what most of them mean when comparing oils. How do you think the two brands of oil compare at both of the differant weights? If one is better for my climtae NE Wisconsin which generally is cold winters and hot summers. Thanks

Unless you're getting a super deal on the XL, Id consider trying one of the new GTLs for the subaru. But I don't think you can do better than the SS line of oils, so Id stick with that in the buick, personally.

A year ago you would have got a different answer. Forget the PU, now it seems no better than any other synthetic.
Pennzoil threw the baby out with the bathwater with this new neutered version IMO.

49.gif

IF you can get Amsoil at wholesale, why not upgrade from XL to their Signature Series 0W-20 for the Subaru?

Originally Posted By: 147_Grain
IF you can get Amsoil at wholesale, why not upgrade from XL to their Signature Series 0W-20 for the Subaru?

Absolutely. No reason buying amsoil and not paying a couple dollars more to get signature series

The main reason to use the Pennzoil is its good oil and if you take into account their rebates you can save on gas 1$ off up to 20 gallons and i believe they have mail in rebates as well. I think that makes the Pennzoil a worthy option.

Of the two new oils I think Platinum is a better deal than Ultra. The old Ultra was better, especially when it was on clearance for less than $3/qt.

You're already using some of the best products available. Unless price has become an issue why change.