Lucas UCL fuel treatment

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just got back from a trip to WV today and have some good news about Lucas fuel treatment. Before, I noticed that I got a consistent 1 to 1.5 mpg increase while using Lucas in my Dodge pickup, so I thought I would try some in my Cavalier (2002 model, 2.2 pushrod engine, 5 speed manual trans. 11,000 miles)for this trip. The car got 39 mpg. I check the mileage frequently and usually get 35-36 on the same trip. Has anyone had similar experiences, and do you know if this product actually cleans injectors and carbon deposits like it is advertised to do? I use it about once every 2,000 miles as a preventive maintenance.
cheers.gif

I have been using it for over two months now. Started with the 5oz bottle and got excellent results and good mileage. Purchased the gallon jug at NAPA and have been using a 3oz maintenance doze on every fill-up. Still good results and mileage. Going to use it on the wife's van now.

Pedro

I've used the Lucas FI cleaner and liked it but aren't you guys worried about diluting your engine oil?

I think I read once that you shouldn't use FI cleaners more than twice per oil change...?

patriot.gif

[ June 03, 2003, 09:31 PM: Message edited by: GSV ]

Lucas UCL imo is a safe every-fill up system lube and cleaner. 3-5oz/tank : assuming a 16gal capacity is more than adequate

You were wise to buy the 1-gallon jug to save money for the long term.

Techron and BG44K are much more aggressive.

Correct me if im wrong but, if your 2.2L chevy motor is an ECOTEC, then its a DOHC engine and not pushrod. Its actually a very well designed motor, exp. for turbocharged applications. course, its destroked to 2L in turbo apps like the Vauxhall Astra turbo (nice car too bad GM doesnt sell it here instead of the cavalier IMHO), and makes 180-200hp. Also see Saab engines in the new 9-3 as they use them also.

Its a good engine for sure though!

quote:

Originally posted by GSV: