Synthetic gear lube and MPG

Status
Not open for further replies.
In general, does changing out the dino gear lube in a RWD car and replacing with synthetic gear lube help, hurt or make no difference in regard to MPG?

I do all of my vehicles. My Yukon XL MPG increased just over 1 mpg but I did the whole drivetrain. So, yes there is a slight payback in some vehicles.

Maybe some don't expect much. Sometimes replacing fluids can hurt your mileage as the new fluids are thicker than their used, sheared, counterparts.

Look at it this way -- I heard OEM has started putting synthetic in differentials to help with CAFE ratings, so it must have some beneficial effect. OEM must run the fluid it specifies for EPA qualification.

Considering the switch to synthetic is so cheap for 1-2 qts, and a long change interval, synthetic diff fluid is good bang for the buck with regard to fuel economy when compared with synthetic motor oil or synthetic transmission fluid.

I'm not a huge proponent of synthetics. But I find it hard to argue against synthetic for differential applications.

I changed the engine oil, transmission oil and differental lubs to Mobil. I did a before and after and measured fuel mileage for ~ 1000 miles before and after. The improvemant was 0.4 mpg with a SD of 0.13. I will never never make up for the increased cost of the synthetic fluids unless I run a 3X longer change interval.

Originally Posted By: Steve S
I have never noticed any worthy increase in mpgs running syn oils as compared to modern oils.

^^2nd