What Do I Need To Start Wrenching?

Status
Not open for further replies.
After years of not having a space to do things, I finally have access to a garage. I'm a relative noob when it comes to wrenching on my car. I mean, I can do the basics oil change, tire rotation, etc...the basics. Probably the most I've done myself was changing the plugs and also taking off several pieces of my interior (glove box included) to change a cabin air filter (stupid Fusion). I've generally just borrowed tools for these jobs.

Now that I have some space, I would like to do things myself. Brakes? Suspension (can I do this without a lift?), trans drain and fill, and other maintenance. I just wanted to ask folks on here, what are some essentials that I need to get started? I need tools (how big of a set to buy?), jack stands, all that kind of stuff. I just don't know where to start.

I guess I am getting sick of paying to watch people do work on my car that feel I could easily do, but don't have the tools. Plus, it something that interests me. I had this same feeling when I was a teenager and went to Best Buy to fix my computer only to realize that it literally took them 3 minutes to replace the RAM into my computer and charge me 120 bucks. Now that I am in IT I mod/upgrade all my machines myself. Why can't I do the same thing, with my car?

Any advice is appreciated! Am I in over my head? I have a newer car (2017 Fusion) and it's my only car so I can't screw it up.

Basically you'll want, at the very least, a set of 1/4", 3/8" metric sockets and appropriate ratchets. Both shallow and deep-welled. And basically just keeping buying tools as jobs present themselves. If you want to do any suspension work, even just changing struts, you'll probably best get into impact sockets and buy an impact gun. A set of pry bars. A 1/2" torque wrench is a must for reinstalling/retorquing lug nuts. 3/8 and 1/2" breaker bars are cheap.