Troubleshooting a P305F code on my 2016 8th gen Malibu

JTK

Dual Battery Control Module Performance

I've been chasing this code for a few months. Now a month out from needing a wonderful people's republic of NY mandatory state inspection done, which will not pass with the MIL on, I figured I'd better get serious on it.

The vehicle has been perfect for nearly a year since I bought it. I knew it had the wrong sized battery both under the hood and in the trunk, but both pass load test with my digital tester. No MIL on for nearly a year, etc.

When the P305F first popped up, I added a "stop/start" eliminator jumper harness to the hood switch. They are very inexpensive online. This setup worked like a charm on my 2021 Traverse, but on the 2016 Malibu, it sets a "hood switch circuit performance" code, so it's a no go in the long term. It eliminates the stop/start, but I can't live with a MIL on all the time.

My daughter is the sole driver of this vehicle and she told me the radio had started go out during a stop/start cycle so my immediate thought was the little aux battery in the trunk given this is what this battery is for. The little motorcycle battery that's there is not the right size, but it tests out at ~12.6V and passes load test. I removed this battery for testing purposes.

With the aux battery out, I load tested the under-hood battery which passed for the 600CCA flooded battery it is. When I ran the crank test on it however, it failed miserably at ~9.3V.

The P305F code sets when the ECM detects 3 consecutive starts in the ~9V range.

I ordered an H8 EverStart Platinum from Wally for $179.94. Hopefully that's it. If not, I'll move on to the aux battery, then the dual batter control module/fuse box unit on top of the battery. Isn't stop/start a joy?

My takeaway on this, is don't trust a battery load test by itself. I used a Topdon battery tester FWIW.