Tire Recommendations 2004 Nissan Sentra

My 2004 Nissan Sentra tires have dry rotted and starting to split at sidewall.
I am sure they were cheap tires to begin with and being 10 years they are a hazard now. Yokohama Tornate. Tread still looks like new, but dry rot separation is clearly a problem. A good example of how tread depth is only a small consideration of life left in a tire.

2024-05-04 16.06.34.jpg

2024-05-04 16.07.05.jpg

This will be my son's 1st car, so I need it to be safe and dependable.
If this were for an SUV, I am confident I would select the Michelin Defender LTX MS. I have those now and they are great tires.
Also trying to chase down vibration issues...I am sure these are contributing to that.

Fronts are Sailun's, but not as dry-rotted, but still 7 years old, so I should replace them all. I do feel like I have vibration from the front driver's side. (Sailun's on the fronts)
2024-05-04 16.07.39.jpg

I have no experience what is a good tire for a small car.
Any advice or opinions?

Goodyears? Michelin, BF Goodrich, Bridgestone?

Last edited:
Kuhmo lx platinum Walmart online. Great friendly budget tire that will do fantastic in Florida for the same price as some unknown brand tire. Not snow friendly but irrelevant since you're in Florida. I have two sets on two cars. One set I just removed from my daughter college car after 45k miles minimal rotations and still not hitting the wear bars. Picture from 45k removal. My tire installer said probably another 10k miles before it hit the wear bars. No flats no issues in rain. Nice n quiet a plus for a thin insulated Sentra

IMG_20240428_103154759.jpg

Last edited:
A few years back, I gave my son my 2006 Sentra, so he could go off to college. We put a new pair of General Altimax RT43's on it (now discontinued, replaced by RT45's) and they served him very well. I selected those tires after a significant amount of research, and we weren't dissapointed.