Should I clean the inside of my engine?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Newbie here. I have a 99 VW Passat V6 with 94K on it. The place that I get my oil changes at said that the inside of my engine has some buildup. I forgot the exact word that they used to describe it but they wanted to sell me this engine cleaning service.

I told them no and I asked my mechanic later about this and he said not to do it because the engine has been running fine with this many miles and putting the cleaner into the engine might cause the lifters to tick.

Here are some pictures of the oil cap removed.

www.geocities.com/ics88/engine1.jpg

www.geocities.com/ics88/engine2.jpg

Should I be concerned about the brown stuff or just leave it since the engine has been running fine?

BTW, I got car used 20K ago so I don't know the complete history of it. My OCI is 3 to 4K with 10W-40 dino oil.

welcome.gif
to BITOG!

Your engine doesn't look all that bad. Maybe try running some Auto-Rx through there. Purchase from www.auto-rx.com The inventor is named Frank and is a site sponsor here. Nice guy and knowledgeable. Follow directions on the bottle and your engine will most likely run alot better. I have used it twice both with positive feedback. Good luck,,,,op

I'll second the ARX recommendation if you want to safely clean your engine. Its also possible that they were just trying to sell extra services. If you had the 1.8T, its likely to have sludge, but you should be safer with the v6.