Need some advice on 5w-20

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry if this is a dumb one folks, I could not get a straight answer anywhere I looked....

We just purchased a 2008 Jeep Patriot and the manual says to use 5w-20. As I have never used this weight before I googled it and started reading all sorts of things for/against. Most of it surrounded something called CAFE.

What is even more confusing is the Patriot in Australia and Europe are spec'd to use 5w-30.

Some basics which may help:

-Winters here can get down to -30C
-Summers can get quite warm +30C !
-City and Hwy driving
-No racing or anything, pretty boring driver
-Looking for engine protection vs fuel economy
-I used M1 5w-30 on my last car and prefer synthetic

So sorry for the long winded post, however my back is against a wall until I found this group.

Thank-you......

Use any SM grade 5-20, change it when your manual says to change it, and watch the rest of the car fall apart before your engine has any oil-related problems. Really. It is seriously that easy. If you want to spend a bunch of time reading on this site for your own edification, that's great. But, realize you may begin to obsess about centi-stokes and TBN and all sorts of minutiae.

Quote:
-Winters here can get down to -30C

That converts over to -22F.

Can a synthetic 5W-30 flow down to -22F? If not, you can always run it during the warmer months I would think.
21.gif

Cool little Jeep! I like the looks of them. Any 5w-20 will serve you well. They are all good IMO. I've run it where 10w or 5w-30 was recommended w/out issue. If you can't easily source 5w-20, just go with 5w-30. The engine won't know the difference. I'd be more curious about the Jatco CVT auto transaxle. Is yours 4x4? Good to have some real-world experience with a CVT on the board.

Joel

Last edited: