Mobil 1 5W-20 EP specs compared to Amsoil 0W-20

Status
Not open for further replies.
I did a little research on M1 EP 5W-20 and found that the specs are interesting when compared to Amsoil 0W-20. The specs for M1 do not look all that bad. Though I am no expert, some M1 specs even seem to surpass the Amsoil specs. I understand that M1 does not list all of the items Amsoil does, perhaps that is where the big difference is found and where Amsoil shines?

Mobil 1 Extended Performance:
SAE Grade: 5W-20
Viscosity, ASTM D 445
cSt @ 40ºC: 47.4
cSt @ 100ºC: 8.9
Viscosity Index: 171
Sulfated Ash, wt%: 1.0
HTHS Viscosity, mPa·s @ 150ºC: 2.7
Pour Point,ºC: -51
Flash Point,ºC: 235
Density @15º C kg/l: 0.86

AMSOIL 100% Synthetic 0W-20 Motor Oil (ASM)
Viscosity @ 100°C: 9.0
Viscosity @ 40°C: 49.1
Viscosity Index: 165
VISC. CCS,cP: 4069 (-35)
Flash Point °C (°F): 228 (442)
Fire Point °C (°F): 246 (475)
Pour Point °C (°F):-54 (-65)
NOACK (% weight loss): 8.6
Four Ball Wear, 75°C, 1200 rpm, 40kg, 1 hour: 0.35
Total Base Number: 12.1
High Temperature/High Shear Viscosity
(ASTM D-4683 @ 150°C, 1.0 X 106 s.-1): 2.8

They are close. The difference, IMO, is the additive package. Amsoil's additive package is more robust, at least on paper. EP might also be Group III. Noack would probably reveal this but they don't publish that spec anymore. Wondery why?
wink.gif
Not that it really matters...LOL.