John Deere JX75

JHZR2

Staff member
Perhaps I’ve gotten a bug…. Or at least a stopgap.

We were driving home from the beach yesterday and I found a JX75 that looked pretty good. Starts first pull, good paint, only minor deck pitting (though there are three tiny holes). Kawasaki engine with pressurized oil system (no filter though I think I can add one).

I decided to get it and bring it home. It starts up great, blade clutch works, but is missing a spring (which is included in a plastic bag). It mows well. Blade was very sharp, propulsion works fine (I usually don’t use it), etc.

It does need some work. The paint on the top of the handle isn’t great, the spring loaded release on the blade clutch bail doesn’t work (blade clutch releases immediately if I manually pull the bail up).

IMG_8285.jpeg
IMG_8287.jpeg

The one thing that it needs, which I’ve never done before, is some carburetor work. And maybe some throttle cable adjustment.

It will start from cold first pull. No problems. When the blade clutch is engaged, it goes perfectly, takes the load, and runs. It will generally run indefinitely at that point. But if I disengage the clutch, then re-engage it, it will bog down and either stall or just be unrecoverable.

See here:

So essentially, leave it alone and it will run for the most part indefinitely. I did get it to stall once when mowing tilted on a hill, but the fuel tank is low, fwiw.

So, what should my steps be? I’ve never messed with these small engines much besides servicing them. Spark plug, air filter, and fuel filter seem fine though the tank does have a bit of junk in it.

IMG_8302.jpeg

I’m thinking I need to service the carb. What parts?

IMG_8318.jpeg

The deck is pretty clean underneath, but I pulled one old plug of grasss and saw some pitting.

IMG_8313.jpeg
IMG_8298.jpeg