HU replacement

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I just lost my whole post when my browser decided it hadn't refreshed in so long that it should do it when I'd just about finished typing.

Anyway, 2012 Subaru Impreza 2.0i base. I found this thread on another forum somewhat detailing it. I know the parts needed like the dash kit and wiring harness, but I don't know how simple or complex the wiring and hooking up would be.

Is it a simple green goes to green and red goes to red thing on the wiring harness or do you have to know which wire does what? What else should I know before doing this?

you shouldnt be soldering much.

usually you get a HU to universal and a universal to subaru

connect them = boom no soldering.

sometimes its just one harness depends on what you buy.

The main thing is you usually dont have to do any modification of factory wiring.. if any soldering is done you do it to the harness you buy.

Note: I'm not a pro.

soldering might be to add stuff such as a steering wheel control converter etc.

Last edited:
I'm confused...

When you remove the factory HU is there an adapter already that's subaru specific? If yes, then is say a metra 12-3456 (example, look at the numbers lol) that's designed for Subaru just going to plug straight into that?

If yes, then what do you do with the loose wires hanging out of the wiring harness? Does the aftermarket HU have color-coded wires that you somehow connect without solder? Or am I missing something?

the people at the other forum use > http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VXED54/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER and that only for wiring. How does this work? I'm very confused.

Last edited: