Flash drive

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was going to put pics and music from my computer on to a flash drive. I've never used one before.
When I plugged it in for the 1st time, a message "found new hardware" came up, and it installed it it and then said it was ready to use.
I went to copy a file to it and a message saying to insert a disk in to the drive came up.
My computer sees the flash drive as a disk drive.
My computer is a HP desktop bought in 2006 with Windows XP.
How do I make this work?
Thanks.

When you go to "My Computer", do you see this flash drive with its own drive letter, such as "E:" for example?

If so, just double click on it to open it. Once you have it open, just drag and drop files onto it.

It might be a different letter like F: or even G:. If your computer has two CD/DVD drives or memory card readers, those will take D, E, F, etc. Try the "last" letter you see.

I tried that, but it shows up as "removable disk (J)", and when I double click on it, I get a message saying "insert disk into drive J.
My computer thinks it's a disk drive.
How do I make it work?

It takes it awhile for the computer to figure it out. x out of everything...plug it back in..and try again.

Do not kill me, but are you SURE it is a flash drive?
I have a Secure Digital card reader that looks exactly like a thumb drive, but it is not. I have to insert a card in it.
http://www.amazon.com/Transcend-TS-RDS5W...4514&sr=8-4
119jbISBVHL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

Originally Posted By: old farmer
It's an 8gb usb memory stick.

USB is the port you plug into the computer, memory stick is a sony trademark (gee thanks) of its own interface. If you have a USB flash drive (or thumb drive as they call them), it shouldn't have this "please insert disk into drive J" error.