Feeding speakers too much power

Status
Not open for further replies.
Theoretical question... say you have a pair of 2-way bookshelf speakers designed to handle 100W continuous / 140W short term. If you were to feed it (clean) power somewhat in excess of this, is it the woofer or the tweeter that is at a higher risk of getting damaged first? Assume standard dance/pop/hiphop material with plenty of bass, if that matters.

Can the woofer get physically damaged from over-extension, or is that not even possible?

I'm no audio expert but I think tweeters are more suseptible to damage from over power. Woofers can be physically damaged from over extending. I've seen that before. Usually you can see or hear it and redduce the volume. Of course it is somewhat dependent on the signal and if it bass heavy, treble etc.

Power clipping (distortion) is what kills speakers more vs wattage. What kind`ve speakers do you have,and what kind`ve amp are you using?

Last edited:
When I was younger, I over-powered some speakers and it was the woofer surround that was damaged from over-extrusion after a bit of time.

If you're basing the power levels on the RMS output listed in the spec sheet for the receiver then worry not. A good output, in my limited experience will have just as much (or little) chance of damaging speakers as under-powering; some will argue there's less chance with a higher, cleaner power source, since you won't be adding in tons of noise while cranking up the volume trying to hear what a cleaner source will produce at a lower volume.

Have you ever seen the movie Back To The Future
laugh.gif

All depends on speakers and other components within the system.
If the bias is off, running near max will do more harm then a system with correct bias. DC output can kill speakers.
There are different tweeter, x-over etc too.
^ yes... distortion/clipping is not generally a good thing.