62 Peterbilt. What goes in this?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am sure that the military owns both commercial and combat vehicles. For example the military may own busses used to transport troops. Even though the military uses busses I doubt that a bus would be classified as a combat vehicle. A combat vehicle used to transport troops would be an ammored personnel carrier.

So this is what causes the confusion because a mechanic in the military who works on busses would think that you can use only us a straight 40 weight oil in a 2 stroke diesel engine and if you use a multigrade you will blow up the engine. Yet a military mechanic who works on combat vehicles knows that it is perfectly acceptable to use a multigrade in a 2 stroke diesel engine. The reason for this is because combat vehicles require lubricants that operate under a wider temperature range. So a combat grade lubricant will be of higher quality than a mere commercial grade lubricant.

I'm a retired trucker and I sure remember those old 318 Detroit's
My favorite saying for them was
Much sound and fury signifying nothing.

Dad had a ole W900 KW with Silver 12V92. He used to have a Dyno sheet that said 612 HP. At the wheels. He used to keep a drive spare drive shaft strapped to the head board.

This was his heavy haul tractor to pull a low bed.

I keep giving him S*** for spitting drive lines like a rookie.

OLD school is cool!

Buzzen dozen with Twin Stick 5+4 or a CAT 15.8L 3406 or a pre emissions C-16 Cat. Backed by 18spd's are the only engines I will even consider.

That or a classic Paccar with a Hall-Scott gasser!

To stay on topic Retell T will suit you fine in that old girl.

And if your not worried about The DOT man loud pipes save lives!