09 Outlook 3.6 DI Valv. Synpower 5w30 4681 miles

Status
Not open for further replies.
My first UOA ever. I will attempt to do this properly.

2009 Saturn Outlook 3.6L direct injection. 18,294 on car
and 4,681 on Valvoline Synpower 5w30 sm gf-4 with 3oz of
auto-rx maintenance dose. This car has only seen this oil
from day one. I chose this oil cause it is suppose to have a lower NOACK value amoung the readily available (walmart)synthetic oils.

This was a late winter,spring and early summer OCI. 60/40 mix
of highway/intown driving with 500 miles of towing a U-haul.
Using a wix oil filter. No make up oil.

Lab work done by Butler Cat Bismarck ND. I can just drop the sample off and have the results the same day. This is where Stinky Peterson who posted many VOA, used to work before he passed away.

I am new at this and these values don't mean much to me. I am looking to see if 5,000 miles is the limit on this oil? I understand that these engines are hard on oil.

Code:

Date Taken: 7/1/11

Miles On Unit 18294

Miles On Oil 4681

TBN 2.0

Label Visc 5w30

Visc SAE 20

Visc 100c 9.1

Physical

Antifreeze N

Fuel Dilution N

Water N

Cu 3

Fe 34

Cr 1

Ni 1

Ti 0

V 0

Ag 0

Pb 3

Sn 1

Al 3

Si 4

Na 262

K 2

Mo 3

B 0

Ba 0

Ca 1768

Mg 19

Mn 0

P 606

Sb 7

Zn 762

FTIR Analysis

Sulf 28

Oxide 28

Nitr 12

PQ

Ferrous

Debris 5

I don't know if the 3oz for auto-rx shows in the results or not.

Comments from Butler Cat: Test results appear to indicate normal levels for this comparment. More data and samples are needed to forma good wear trend. Continue to monitor by sampling at the recomended interval.

So any comments from you guys?

It didn't shear much, no fuel dilution, and OK wear metals.

Looks like Synpower at 5K intervals is working for you, as far as I can tell.

Iron is 34 but nothing else looks excessive. At 18,000 could it still be breaking in?

Forgot to add that the OLM was at 65% (non adjusted) and
the test kit from butler cat was $25 with TBN.