08 Sierra Rear Axle Service

I am thinking about tackling this service in the future and trying to get some info on it because I have never done one of these before but it doesn't seem too hard. I don't think the service has ever been done even though the truck is an 08, I think it has been babied and it only has 55k on it.

The operators manual just states 75w-90 synthetic axle lube is what is needed, it doesn't give a capacity (Thinking I need 1-2 qts?).

1. Should I order a gasket or is RTV sufficient?
  2. What is the best way to clean the old gasket/mating surface?
  3. Should I spray/clean out the gears with brake cleaner and let it dry before sealing it back up?
  4. What axle lube/additives are recommended?
  5. What is the torque spec for the bolts/plug?
Thanks!

Last edited:
I’m going to assume a 1/2 ton since you didn’t mention a 3/4 ton. I use a Felpro gasket and coat the cover side with Permatex High Tack. The forums have gone on forever with RTV vs gaskets and it will probably get discussed here. A plastic scraper should be good. Spraying cleaner on the gears is just anal retention in my opinion. 75W90 Synthetic. No additives, even if it was a G-80 locking diff. If the gear oil comes with LS additives don’t worry about it. Watch for a magnet on the back of the cover or possibly at the bottom of the diff. Clean the magnet.

Good advice on the fill plug. ( Make sure you can unscrew it). If stuck, spray it with Liquid Wrench or your favourite penetrating oil. If it doesn’t want to come out, use the end of a impact wrench and give it some tough love. Wear eye protection. If the plug is still stuck you can order a new cover from Rock Auto. Watch a few You Tube videos.

Last edited: