What are "directional" tires..??

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to this term..

--does anybody know what this means?
--how can you tell if a tire is directional or not?
--are there any special procediures to mount/balance "directional" tires?
--if there are, what are the effects of mounting them inproperly?
Can someone pls educate me about this?
Thanks.

Directional tires have a tread pattern that is different based on how you mount it on the wheel (two possible ways). When mounted properly, the directional pattern enhances traction, more often than not by expelling water in a pumping action. In this case, the tread will have a "V" shape so that as it rolls the tip of the V hits the ground first.

A tire is directional if it has an arrow on the sidewall with the text "ROTATION". When the car drives forward, the arrow moves the direction the tires rolls.

For directional tires, they need mounted on the proper side of the car. The people mounting the tires should be alerted that they are directional. After mounted properly, they must stay on the same side of the car during rotation.

Mounting them improperly will reverse the pumping action of the tires (from center to edges to pumping inward), which means your car will hydroplane sooner instead of later (speedwise).

quote:

Originally posted by 97tbird:
I'm new to this term..

--does anybody know what this means?
--how can you tell if a tire is directional or not?
--are there any special procediures to mount/balance "directional" tires?
--if there are, what are the effects of mounting them inproperly?
Can someone pls educate me about this?
Thanks.

Now once you digested "directional" tires, also be aware there is also something a little different called "assymetric."