Polaris Synthetic Fluids?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All

I realize this is very much like closing the gate after all the horses have left... but -

I recently ordered a full Polaris synthetic fluid kit. It came with engine oil and oil filter, and all the specific fluids for the differentials and transmissions - etc. etc.

Anyway, what is the general consensus of this stuff? Anyone know who makes Polaris' fluids?

There are some crazy specifications for this stuff. The engine oil, PS-4 Plus, is a 2w-50. The angle drive is specified as GL5 80-90 weight gear lube as another "option."

Anyway - has anyone spec'ed Polaris fluids or replacements? Or is the Polaris stuff pretty good stuff?

Thanks in advance!

Overpriced lubricants. Ive been buying Polaris atvs since 1992 and back then they didnt have a complete line of lubricants out there and they would spec ATF type F for the hubs and Sae 30 oil for the transmission, now they have AGL for the transmission and a assortment of overpriced, crazy names doo lubes. I very seldom buy the polaris lubes anymore and have no trouble. The transmissions are nothing but a gearbox, a simple gearbox at that. I use Rotella 5w40 in the engines with Purolator (Honda car) filters.

So is your opinion "overpriced, not very good" or "overpriced, but a decent oil?"

I guess the price didn't really scare me. Heck, I spend about $70 an oil change on my pickup. For the same price I got the oil and oil filter, and enough fluids to do the axles at least once, maybe twice.

But... I'd there ARE better options out there: I would rather use them.

Anyone have any idea who makes their oils? Anyone have cross spec sheet or info on what alternatives meet all the polaris requirements? You sure are right about them giving crazy names to everything... Angle drive fluid, hill decent control fluids, etc etc.

Originally Posted By: md_lucky_13
Hi All

I realize this is very much like closing the gate after all the horses have left... but -