1998 Buick LeSabre Synthetic Oil Recomended?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi from Walsenburg, CO. I'm a newb here, a former certified master mechanic now retired. So expect some old school backwardness...

I'm hoping to obtain some recommendations for synthetic oil for a 1998 Buick LeSabre with 104,000 miles on it in good running condition. I live rurally, yet am retired, so it sits for several days at a time but when driven usually gets fully warmed up on trips of either 25 miles or 70 miles. Temps are usually -20 to 45f in winter, 55 to 100f in summer. Usually not colder than 20+f in Winter when I drive, plus I have a lower radiator hose heater on it for when it's really brutal. Would like to simplify with one oil for year round.

It had the oh-so-typical leaking UIM/LIM (intake manifolds and gaskets) and leaking valve cover and oil pan gaskets. I got the car dirt cheap because of that yet it's a cherry otherwise. I just replaced all of the leaky stuff and the UIM with the APN part. I am reasonably certain it did not have much coolant in the oil yet, if any. I'm cycling it through some accelerated oil changes with Valvo 10w30 and Wix filters I had to make sure it's cleaned out.

It's a good runner with no quirks now. The valve covers had some sludge buildup in them, but the rest of the engine was fairly clean.

Here is what I hope to accomplish. Pretty much the usual.

1.) Extend remaining engine life. Keep it clean inside.
2.) Increase gasoline mileage while not harming engine life.
3.) Extend drain interval.
4.) Good bang for the buck oil. In the price range of M1, PP

I was first leaning towards M1 EP, but after reading BITOG, I'm wondering if Pennzoil Platinum might be a better choice for this car?

I'm old school, so the recommendations for 0w20 weight seems a bit scary, but I'm willing to give it a try if that's really the consensus. Will it really still show oil pressure on the gauge with that??
wink.gif