Recent Topics
Valvoline SynPower | $2.99/qt after rebate | Menar
by lucas01230
09/27/16 01:53 PM
Grease packet that comes with Honda OEM brake pads
by 2010Civic
09/27/16 01:18 PM
P0741 Torque converter clutch stuck(replacement)
by sky
09/27/16 01:15 PM
Alaska, the Land of Massive Headlight Glare?
by SubLGT
09/27/16 12:32 PM
Motorcycle filters - FRAM PH6017A or HiFlow HF204?
by sw99
09/27/16 12:29 PM
Snow Tires and RIMS... pretty difficult... really!
by SumpChump
09/27/16 11:37 AM
My BMW 335i F30 loves Redline 0w40
by rikstaker
09/27/16 11:18 AM
Is this electrical/construct
ion quote reasonable?

by Tom NJ
09/27/16 11:04 AM
Drill/Driver
by GGorman04
09/27/16 10:58 AM
Floating rotors?
by gregk24
09/27/16 10:17 AM
Sportline Oil Manufacturer - Fleet Farm
by BurrWinder
09/27/16 10:02 AM
Hybrid harder on engine oil?
by WobblyElvis
09/27/16 08:34 AM
Newest Members
9009000, tsl1968, AlluD, BkOB, 3rdsaturn
59200 Registered Users
Who's Online
85 registered (4WD, 901Memphis, 2015_PSD, 09_GXP, 2010Civic, ABomb369, 9 invisible), 2053 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
59200 Members
66 Forums
254976 Topics
4188371 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#3430284 - 07/20/14 02:38 PM GM Passkey III didn't require programing?
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3848
Loc: Kuwait
So I lost the master key for my Envoy, so I got a new fob and coded key from the dealer. They asked me to come back tomorrow for programming, so I figured I'd do it myself.

I put the new uncoded key in the ignition and turned it on - five seconds later the security light went off. I cranked the engine and it fired right up! I tried the 2nd memory key and it fired right up. Am I missing something here?
_________________________
99 Explorer EB: GC 0W40/FL1A
00 Pajero: Aisin PAO/Ester 5W40/MD352626
01 Marquis: GC 0W40/51372XP
03 Expedition: M1 0W40/51372XP
05 Envoy: GC 0W40/51522XP

Top
#3430325 - 07/20/14 03:25 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Trav Offline


Registered: 11/20/06
Posts: 14353
Loc: MA, Mittelfranken.de
Try leaving the Master in the house and try it.
_________________________
ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.

Top
#3430331 - 07/20/14 03:39 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 29707
Loc: ME
Maybe someone put in a remote starter and it has a bypass module you don't know about. Did you get it new?

Top
#3430345 - 07/20/14 03:56 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3848
Loc: Kuwait
Trav - same thing. shrug

I bought it off the original owner who never changed/added anything.

Based on what I've read, it appears I have a Pass-Lock system, which to my understanding is different than Pass-Key. To my understanding, there is no chip in the key - which explains why it cost $10 for a Genuine GM key vs. $30 for my Ford PATS key - the key is just used to make contact between the tip and the base of the ignition cylinder. The resistor is apparently located in the ignition cylinder itself. Maybe that explains why.
_________________________
99 Explorer EB: GC 0W40/FL1A
00 Pajero: Aisin PAO/Ester 5W40/MD352626
01 Marquis: GC 0W40/51372XP
03 Expedition: M1 0W40/51372XP
05 Envoy: GC 0W40/51522XP

Top
#3430360 - 07/20/14 04:15 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
dishdude Offline


Registered: 11/14/08
Posts: 6831
Loc: Phoenix
Passlock just checks to make sure there is a key in the cylinder, passkey III has a transponder chip in the head of the key and requires programming. Is there any marking on the blade of the key such as PK3 or a circle with a + in the center?

Top
#3430370 - 07/20/14 04:26 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3848
Loc: Kuwait
No markings on the key.
_________________________
99 Explorer EB: GC 0W40/FL1A
00 Pajero: Aisin PAO/Ester 5W40/MD352626
01 Marquis: GC 0W40/51372XP
03 Expedition: M1 0W40/51372XP
05 Envoy: GC 0W40/51522XP

Top
#3430422 - 07/20/14 05:36 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
dishdude Offline


Registered: 11/14/08
Posts: 6831
Loc: Phoenix
No marking on the key means it is a Passlock system, no programming necessary.

Top
#3430606 - 07/20/14 08:34 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 2587
Loc: Somewhere
Originally Posted By: Falcon_LS
the key is just used to make contact between the tip and the base of the ignition cylinder. The resistor is apparently located in the ignition cylinder itself. Maybe that explains why.


So what exactly is this system supposed to prevent? Hot wiring can still be done - just put any old key in there....

Top
#3430672 - 07/20/14 09:13 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
George7941 Offline


Registered: 05/10/05
Posts: 1814
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Hot wiring will not work on Passkey systems since there are Hall effect sensors in the ignition lock cylinder and the BCM must see the pattern generated when the ignition key is turned normally, else the BCM does not enable fuel.
_________________________
2006 GMC Sierra 4.3l, NV3500,G80 , Formula Shell Synthetic 5W30,Dexcool.
1987 BMW R80 - sold
2015 Honda CBR300R

Staying out of the right lane a lot.

Top
#3430838 - 07/21/14 06:15 AM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 29707
Loc: ME
^ yup that.

Deliberately confusing terminology on GMs part. But, they still get credit for putting passlock on the cheaper cars-- it still deters theft.

Top
#3430862 - 07/21/14 07:04 AM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: George7941]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 2587
Loc: Somewhere
Originally Posted By: George7941
Hot wiring will not work on Passkey systems since there are Hall effect sensors in the ignition lock cylinder and the BCM must see the pattern generated when the ignition key is turned normally, else the BCM does not enable fuel.


That makes better sense. Thanks.

Top