Home

pay cut at work

Posted By: marine65

pay cut at work - 04/04/20 04:17 PM

I'm an hourly employee.
My hours were cut to 25 hours a week.
The company cut all employees pay by 10%
I'll be OK with Social Security still coming in.
But expenses have to be watched closely.
I think I can file unemployment for lost pay because it's directly from the Virus.

Anybody else in a similar situation?
Posted By: Hermann

Re: pay cut at work - 04/04/20 04:36 PM

In theory you can , but good luck with the process.
Posted By: PW01

Re: pay cut at work - 04/04/20 04:41 PM

I’m no unemployment expert but in Indiana you can file for partial unemployment if your hours are reduced due to Coronavirus

Re: pay cut at work - 04/04/20 04:51 PM

Originally Posted by PW01
I’m no unemployment expert but in Indiana you can file for partial unemployment if your hours are reduced due to Coronavirus

thats what I see on the Colorado unemployment site.
Posted By: motor_oil_madman

Re: pay cut at work - 04/04/20 04:58 PM

Then they will lay you off cause you're costing them more money.
Posted By: JeffKeryk

Re: pay cut at work - 04/04/20 05:03 PM

By all means apply. You have earned it.
Good luck.
Posted By: Jackson_Slugger

Re: pay cut at work - 04/04/20 05:18 PM

Originally Posted by motor_oil_madman
Then they will lay you off cause you're costing them more money.

He might be better off and making more with the Bill coming out. In any case, a lot of business owners in NY are stupid and try to deny unemployment not matter what thinking they are saving money when they've already paid for it, and they no longer can contest it for anyone...
Posted By: Jimzz

Re: pay cut at work - 04/04/20 05:23 PM

Yea you can file due to the hours being cut alone, let alone the extra that has been added due to COVID-19.

File now as they are very back logged so will take time.
Posted By: stockrex

Re: pay cut at work - 04/04/20 05:48 PM

2 week furlough at work
Posted By: CT8