AC vs. Evaporative Cooler.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I live in a desert climate in Southern California. My house currently has a central AC unit that is about 18 years old and not very effective at cooling anymore. An AC tech said I should seriously consider just buying a new unit.

I am thinking of going with a new AC system, or a central Evaporative Cooler (aka swamp cooler).

My research shows that a swamp cooler is less expensive to purchase and operate, and does a decent job cooling an entire home in hot dry climates. But, does it cool down enough, or will I regret not buying an AC? I have no experience with swamp coolers. Temperatures will be in the mid 90's to low 100's and very dry for a few months here.

Anyone here use a central swamp cooler unit, and can give feedback on their effectiveness, and other pros and cons?

18 years old is not necessarily done. I have one in a rental that is 38 years old. A few parts over the years but works fine. Maybe it just needs some maintenance?

Swamp coolers are gross, they're pretty much a giant humidifier. I would consider one for a warehouse or garage, but not a house.

As far as effectiveness, as soon as the humidity gets above 20% they are useless.

Mainly you use them where there is a lot of air exchange, as in commercial kitchens. Most doughnut houses have them. Air is cooled but then you don't get that cool because your body uses evaporation to cool itself and the humid air slows that.

We had a whole house swamp cooler growing up in western Colorado. I remember it worked great to cool the house. Remember you're going to have to go up on the roof to clean it and change the evaporation pads out every once in a while. I think they're great if the climate's dry enough to use one.