Home

Setting original HDD to secondary storage?

Posted By: GemStater

Setting original HDD to secondary storage? - 06/14/18 06:09 AM

I just successfully commissioned a new SSD on my home PC as the boot drive. I have the old HDD Iíd like use as secondary storage. The issue I seem to be having is the HDD appears to have the old partitions on it and I canít figure out have to remove them even after a wipe. Any ideas?
Posted By: JohnnyJohnson

Re: Setting original HDD to secondary storage? - 06/14/18 06:28 AM

Are you really ever going to use that drive or just trying to wipe it clean?
Posted By: ctechbob

Re: Setting original HDD to secondary storage? - 06/14/18 07:02 AM

If you're running Windows you'll need to do it in Disk Management:

https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-open-disk-management-2626080
Posted By: Kibitoshin

Re: Setting original HDD to secondary storage? - 06/14/18 08:11 AM

If you are comfortable with CMD commands then using diskpart to "clean" the drive for re-initialization is much faster and easier.
Posted By: BigD1

Re: Setting original HDD to secondary storage? - 06/14/18 01:33 PM

Originally Posted By: ctechbob
If you're running Windows you'll need to do it in Disk Management:

https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-open-disk-management-2626080



Same website has a list of free partitioning software.

I have personally used AOEMI, and it worked very good. It does a lot more than disk management.
Posted By: beanoil

Re: Setting original HDD to secondary storage? - 06/14/18 02:32 PM

In windows disk management you can right click the partitions and delete them. Then create one partition and format.
Or you can boot a windows load and manage your disks without loading any software.
Or a linux load.
Or a 3rd party tool such as gparted.
You have lots of options.
Posted By: GemStater

Re: Setting original HDD to secondary storage? - 06/14/18 04:26 PM

Finally got it! I don't know why but it din't want to go very easily at first, both through Windows Disk Management and through the Seagate Disk Cleanser program I already had loaded on my computer. After a few tries the Seagate program wiped it 100% clean. Then I was able to initialize and format it very easy. Thanks everyone for all the recommendations.
Posted By: Subdued

Re: Setting original HDD to secondary storage? - 06/16/18 03:20 AM

If that's the drive from your previous thread, I wouldn't trust it.
© 2019 Bob Is The Oil Guy