2015 Ram 3.6 Engine Temps

In normal driving conditions highly unlikely to be normal. I have never seen temps this high in any of the cars i have owned unless there was a system failure.

But in your case with the 3.6 possible ?? i have no experience with this engine.

I don't believe that is normal, especially as the coolant is also used to cool the transmission.

I did a quick search in gOOgle and found that people with V6 Rams had issues with the accuracy of the gauge (some verified with an IR gun) and some had water pump issues.

Apparently there was a backorder of pumps back in '15 +/-. I have a Fluke IR gun, but I imagine the Harbor Freight one isn't too bad. I would shoot the water pump and T-stat area and then compare to the gauge. If it matches close enough, you may need a water pump.

I would check for any TSB's on the issue.

Originally Posted by Snagglefoot
It would be normal for higher rpm use. What are the typical shift point rpms?

Just to verify, are you talking about coolant temps or oil temps. A lot of Rams have oil temp readouts in addition to coolant temps. 231 sounds high for coolant temps, but would be normal for the oil temp if the engine was running at higher rpm such as with towing.

Last edited:
check the grill shutters.. i've read you can remove couple of the flaps to increase air flow. or consider pulling them right out
I just bought a 2019 classic 3.6 only gets hot 220' s when stuck in traffic.

On my 2017 Ram 1500 with the pentastar, I've seen coolant temps get close to 220degF sitting at a stop light on a very hot, humid day after being on the interstate.

It's normally in the 180-185 range. Same with engine oil and ATF temps which all display on the dash.

Last edited:
Case Number: S1324000004

Release Date: 2/12/2013

Symptom/Vehicle Issue: Vehicle Temperature Gauge Reads Hot

Discussion: