Best oil for BMW 335i N54 twin turbo?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Folks. I'm a bit confused here. I'm not an engineer or any other kind of expert, but from reading the posts, it looks like the oil in the 335i bi-turbo must be changed every 1000 miles
crazy.gif
! Yikes! Am I misunderstanding here? Is this the case if the 335i is driven normally (i.e. not on the race track)? I'm looking at maybe purchasing a 335i (I do not mind 5000 mile OCIs), but I will not if the engine destroys oil so readily. Thanks in advance.

Quote:

Is the 3.0 biturbo BMW engine direct injection like the RS4 V8?

Yes, the N54 335i engine has direct injection. Please excuse my previous "yes" post - I clicked reply instead of reply with quote.

I'd like to see a straight grade in one of these engines. Something like a Amsoil ACD SAE 30 with no VII's. M1 0w-40 with a VI of 187 and HT/HS of 3.6 is using a lot of VII's. Even a 15w-40 or 10w-30 would be possibly more ideal. Any thoughts on that?

reb03,

Hopefully you don't drive on the street like you do at the track so I think you have two different operating environments which should be considered. I can't see a 7.5K OCI and track being used as considerations at the same time.

Looking at these conditions independently to find good solutions is likely to be hard enough. I would try for the optimal in each and then look for conservative compromises after looking at usage pattern/experience complimented with lots of study.

Reb03, I recently read a Car&Driver article on this BMW twin turbo. They also noted the very high temperatures. They questioned why BMW recommended its 5W-30 oil rather than the 10W-60 (Castrol TWS Motorsport) as in their "M" cars. I'm not sure I saved that issue, but is was within the last few months.

Quote: