Pressure Washers - stripping paint off wooden deck

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am planning on stripping and repainting my deck in the next week or two. The paint is peeling badly and so it will need to be stripped before I repaint it. Does anyone know what type of pressure washer would best work for this? What is the minimum PSI and GPM required? I have a few friends with electric units but I am not sure if they'd work. If not, I will rent an appropriate unit.

Any recommedations/tips?

I have some experience using pressure washers to remove paint from wood. They remove the bulk of the chips that have delaminated and is a timesaver in that respect. You still have to follow up with a scraper to finish the job. You also have to be careful not to get too aggressive with it, or else the wood starts splintering.

Something around 3 gallons per minute and 3000 psi would do it. If you are renting, get something that will go a little higher so you can dial back to the most effective (and least damaging) setting.

Keep in mind you're going to raise the grain of the wood by stripping it that way. If that would be unsightly for you, sanding or scraping might be better options.

No matter what, you have your work cut out for you.
You will probably need other subsequent steps to prepare the surface for coating.
Most pressure washers have adjustable settings. Use as little as possible to avoid damaging the wood. BTW, my brother in law just cut off his finger with one of those.