I spoke to Mobil today about Mobil1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Quote:

I worked as a rep, then manager, for a chemical company for 22 years. All anybody knew about the formulations in our product line of 300+ products was what the data sheet and MSDS said.

That being said... The MSDS is required to be fully up to date by both OSHA and the EPA. If they were not, the company would be in serious deep doo-doo. Since the individual containers do not have one included, it is required to be available and up-to-date at place of purchase and the on the company's web site. READ THE doggone MSDS. I do not believe the people here who condemn a product over one person's NON-Published GC readings and based solely upon his statements regarding two grades of oils. ExxonMobil has to provide up-to-date MSDS, period. If you do not believe they are, then sick the EPA and OSHA on them!

http://www.host1.exxonmobil.com/psims/AlternateFormat.aspx?DocumentID=563536&DocumentFormat=RTF

This link is for the Mobil 1 EP 15W-50.

I don't see much that helps to clarify the basestock issue. 'Synthetic basestock with additives' could easily include Group III or be ebtirely Group III under the Castrol definition of 'synthetic'.

Moving on to something more certain: I am not impressed with how Mobil 1 answers my questions about their product.

If I don't like how Mobil 1 treats me as a customer, then I will not support Mobil 1.

Quote:

In short, it's more than one data point.

I hate to interrupt raging anger and righteous indignation with commonsense and facts, but:

- Tom tested the contents of two containers, not a sample of production over some long period of time.

- the results differed between those two viscosities as to the makeup of the stocks