What provides protection against oil coking turbo?

Status
Not open for further replies.
That's the party line but ain't so. I know of folks with sludge affected saabs who've used nothing of Mobil1...even before the supposed "group III" Mobil1 came about.

Turbo coking and engine sludge are two separate things. Coking is caused by high temps while sludge can be caused by low temps (in combination with other factors) and of course poor PCV systems.

Wow, the turbos were coking in the Saabs with M1? If so, were they disassembled and inspected for deposits? That is interesting.

Several people who claim to have used nothing but M1 have reported hard pebbles of coked oil in the oil pan when they dropped it. I have had the same, but since I bought mine used, I have no knowledge of the previous owner's oil preferences.

These reports go back at least a few years. Perhaps M1 has had group III that long. I certainly know no one who's used Redline who has had that problem. But then again I don't know many Redline using SAAB owners anyway! Turbo failure has been a big problem for base 9-5 owners. I'll poll the folks on my forum to see how many of them were using a synth from day one and which one it was.

elsmacko,
Quickbeam nailed it. The device is called an "Acumulator". Visualize an up-side down fire extinguisher placed slightly higher than your turbo. When you start your engine, as oil pressure builds, it fills the cannister. When you shut down the engine, and oil pressure goes to zero, a check valve releases oil in cannister and lets it "drizzle" onto turbo bearing oil feed line. Of course, letting engine "spool down" after running makes the most sense, but is not REAL WORLD as it can't be done every time. If you take this route, you'll need to add oil to your engine as this device will increase capacity.