New Watch

Status
Not open for further replies.
quote:

Originally posted by MarkC:
I love my Seikos. I have a big old mechanical diver that I got when I graduated from college some time ago, and it still keeps excellent time. For the past 5 years, I've mostly worn my other Seiko, a solar powered diver. I hate changing batteries.

I've had a n umber of Seiko's and this is my first Kinetic model.
We'll see how that goes, but I will presume it will be as good as my others, which is to say, excellent.

Scott

I have a Seiko Kinetic Titanium and an Omega Speedmaster Day/Date automatic. I like them both for different reasons.

It's not all about keeping time accurately. I don't mind having to set my watch once a week (but then again I am on an oil changing forum so maintenance has never been an issue for me). I love the mechanical Omega, and boy is it durable.

However, the Seiko kept unbeleivably accurate time. I think it would lose about 5 seconds a year (using a radio clock as reference).

The one thing I didn't like about the Seiko was that it had a mineral crystal instead of a sapphire. The mineral crystal got scratched to all heck. I've run my Omega against a stucco wall and was amazed to find it came out without a scratch.

It sounds like you got a great watch. You'll be happy with the sapphire crytstal. My Seiko has served me well, I am sure you will have the same experience.

I am hoping the sapphire will be very durable!

BTW, the best watches are old, American-made railroad watches!
I have a small collection of those, and if I had the money, I'd have a room full of them.
Opening the backs of those and looking at all the handmade parts is amazing. Works of art...and sadly, no longer done. Well, maybe they are, but they'd cost a fortune...

Scott

-

Here's my trusty Seiko Solar Diver.

-

But I like this too.

-

But I really, really like this one.

Wow, I guess I shouldn't be surprised that oil, fine watches, and cars go hand in hand
tongue.gif