Lube for a knife?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just replaced my OLD trusty pocket knife with a Kershaw assisted open blade knife. Its new and works great, any ideas on lube for the pivot points. I'm a mechanic and have always used a drop of clean motor oil on other blades.

quote:

Originally posted by Superglide:
I just replaced my OLD trusty pocket knife with a Kershaw assisted open blade knife. Its new and works great, any ideas on lube for the pivot points. I'm a mechanic and have always used a drop of clean motor oil on other blades.

A drop of clean engine oil sounds as good as anything for a pocket knife. If in doubt, ask Kershaw.

I carry a "chive" myself. great knives. motor oil or atf should be fine. I've noticed a little grit and pocket lint will make the action slow slower, so less oil is better.
i only use that $400 a gallon stuff made by shell for ferraris. I find it makes the knife open .0002531 seconds faster. j/k

The last thing I want on a pocket knife is something that will attract lint and other pocket gunk. The primary quality I'm looking for is a protectant, i.e., something to inhibit corrosion and displace moisture. Lubrication is really secondary, and just about any lube will do in that regard since a knife's lubrication need is just not that demanding.

I prefer something like Eezox that dries and provides strong corrosion protection. There's also nothing wrong with other high-tech lubes like TW-25B, G-96, FP-10 or BreakFree CLP providing you wipe off as much excess as possible. With any liquid lube I'd put a drop on the pivot points / hinge pins, open and close a few times to distribute the lube, then blow out the excess with compressed air and wipe everything as dry as possible. I also wipe down the blade with a lube-moistened patch and then wipe dry. There should be enough lube remaining on the metal surfaces to provide corrosion protection and lubrication for the pivots for a long time.