4.0 L Jeep engine running temp

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am not sure about the way my engine is running. This is my 1990 Jeep Comanche with 157K miles on it. It was parked in my Dad's barn from Oct 1999 to Feb 2005 and had
I have changed the plugs, thermostat and O2 sensor w/help from BITOG members, plus brakes, calipers and other non-engine parts. I am on the rinse phase of my first ARx treatment and it has made a huge improvement in the engine. I wish that I had removed the valve covers and taken pictures.

The thermostat that I installed was a 195 oF thermostat from Advance Auto. The previous thermostat was stuck open. The coolant temp now rises to the appropriate temp and levels off according to the gauge, but the hood and engine seem to be very hot after driving.

I probably need to do a coolant system flush, but I am hesitant as I have never done this before. This is not my daily driver, but it is a great little truck for trips to Home Depot or the landfill. I have a lot of sentimental reason to keep this truck running forever if possible.

Does any else have an older Jeep 4.0L with similar mileage? If the temp guage is at the appropriate setting should I assume that this engine was designed to run this way? Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks.

The 4.0 is supposed to run at or about 210F. My 96 Cherokee has an aftermarket temp gauge that I had put in, and according to it, mine is usually running about 200F, rising to around 210-220 in traffic when the weather is warm. I've never checked to see if it's giving an accurate reading, but I think it's pretty close. My hood doesn't feel too hot, nor does the engine compartment seem too hot either. Maybe you can take your truck somewhere and have the actual coolant temp checked and compared to the gauge.
It wouldn't hurt to flush the system and refill with fresh stuff.
I think the 1990 has the closed coolant system and sometimes those get an air bubble, which may cause hot temps.