Eco Diesel failure

Originally Posted by motor_oil_madman
That's what I heard. Common internal failures. Keep your mouth shut about the oil unless they ask, but if they ordered an engine no questions asked, then that's also a clue that this isn't a fluke.

I am hoping the warranty will be honored.
However they did ask for him to go back to the shop & supply them with receipts from oil changes.

I think they indicate customer supplied oil.

If an oil jug has a "diesel" approval on the label it should be suitable for any diesel engine, or does a person really need to be sure it has the correct API rating as well?

I am sure the biggest cause of the engines being on back order is due to the Covid 19 outbreaks, & manufacturers, & suppliers running at reduced capacity, if at all.

I haven't seen any recent Oil analysis reports from others who are using this engine. I have been sending frequent oil samples in for analysis on my 2018 F150 3.5 Ecoboost to monitor the fuel dilution issues, & now regretting not pulling a sample from my fathers truck to see how it was doing.

Last edited:
i will stick to my lower tech port injected nissan frontier SV, port injected V-6 + 6 spd manual tranny!! as noted diesels are best used as intended on longer runs + many buyers of big pickups diesel or not don't really need them, but if you got the $$$$$ to throw away good for you, DON't COMPLAIN!!!!

Originally Posted by 2015_PSD

-- The Bosch HPFP pumps have failed due to ULSD fuel (not unique to Ford, Bosch is the problem here).
-- The DPF/SCR/DEF systems have had lots of issues from early plugging of the DPF, to the myriad of SCR sensors that have failed, to the issues with the DEF system often requiring a complete replacement.
-- The system can be caught in a "continuous regen" if only driving in stop and go traffic sending fuel mileage into the toilet.
-- The EGR coolers typically plug or leak and this is exacerbated by stop and go driving.