Forums Migration

Please read this thread

Recent Topics
2017 CR-V Next Oil
by Ruby2013Elantra - 07/08/20 02:31 AM
Silver Windshield Sun Shades
by rrretiree7 - 07/08/20 02:04 AM
Castrol Edge PIck-Up
by Gene K - 07/08/20 01:51 AM
Safety kleen seals.
by Chris142 - 07/07/20 10:58 PM
I do a full detail everything 2 or 3 years.
by SLO_Town - 07/07/20 09:59 PM
Oil Recommendation 2020 GR Supra
by afree - 07/07/20 09:51 PM
I need to drive it more...
by SLO_Town - 07/07/20 09:43 PM
Pennzoil
by BlueOvalFitter - 07/07/20 09:07 PM
100k 06 Fusion 2.3
by Aichiguy - 07/07/20 08:13 PM
CHINA
by buster - 07/07/20 07:52 PM
Darker varnish spot on rocker arm
by Spetz - 07/07/20 07:29 PM
AC Delco Dexron VI $18.76 a Gallon Amazon
by Matt1980 - 07/07/20 07:17 PM
ALS labs change in fuel dilution test
by LotI - 07/07/20 06:50 PM
Archery high tech
by CourierDriver - 07/07/20 06:42 PM
Odd filter issue
by fatrap314 - 07/07/20 06:33 PM
Lexus IS 350 AWD 2016 0W-20
by hotp4nts182 - 07/07/20 06:14 PM
Duh-- Didn't know there was a SIM card.
by csandste - 07/07/20 03:54 PM
Running 40 PSI vs 35
by Mr_Luke - 07/07/20 03:05 PM
Newest Members
fatrap314, hotp4nts182, LeslieX, Mayuraj, thexeve
71876 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
22 registered members (edhackett, ChristianBerg, E365, Drosselmier, DaHen, Ctopher, 2 invisible), 751 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics307,583
Posts5,313,564
Members71,876
Most Online4,538
Jan 20th, 2020
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Home Voltage Monitor with Log capability #5465133 06/28/20 07:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 500
H
henni Offline OP
OP Offline
H
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 500
Some years ago, we used a tool that connected 2 toroid coils over house mains. That tool was connected via Ethernet to router and it allowed for email alerts when voltage dropped below some set value or the inverse on high side. Company no longer in business.

Not looking for tool to monitor energy use, just voltage logging and the alert would be a bonus. The log capture is a must-have as I need to drop 24 hour values to power utility for line quality review.

Several kind-of tools exist on Amazon but looking for a recommendation.

Re: Home Voltage Monitor with Log capability [Re: henni] #5465155 06/28/20 08:09 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 35,783
E
eljefino Offline
Offline
E
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 35,783

Re: Home Voltage Monitor with Log capability [Re: henni] #5465192 06/28/20 08:53 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 14,899
R
Rand Offline
Offline
R
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 14,899


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
2020 Hyundai Elantra "Value Edition"
Re: Home Voltage Monitor with Log capability [Re: henni] #5465231 06/28/20 09:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 772
W
WhizkidTN Offline
Offline
W
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 772
I would suggest you research this:

https://sense.com/
https://www.amazon.com/Sense-Energy...&hvtargid=pla-431367241364&psc=1

I know it does more than you mentioned but the extra features it has and can do look very intriguing to me.

Last edited by WhizkidTN; 06/28/20 09:42 PM.

His: '12 Kia Optima SX - 2.0L GDI Twin-Scroll Turbo [Tuned] (88K)
>EDGE 0W-40, Fram XG9688
Her's: '14 Nissan Rogue SL AWD - 2.5L NA (107K)
>EDGE 0W-20, Fram XG6607/XG7317
Re: Home Voltage Monitor with Log capability [Re: henni] #5465475 06/29/20 09:01 AM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,502
V
Vern_in_IL Offline
Offline
V
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,502
I would use a simple step down transformer with a Dickson ET8 Universal Input Chart Recorder.

You would have "hard evidence"

Last edited by Vern_in_IL; 06/29/20 09:02 AM. Reason: language correction
Re: Home Voltage Monitor with Log capability [Re: henni] #5465516 06/29/20 10:10 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 24,620
D
Donald Offline
Offline
D
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 24,620
A UPS from Cyberpower connected to a PC will monitor outages and under and over voltage.


2015 Ford F-250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: Home Voltage Monitor with Log capability [Re: henni] #5465773 06/29/20 04:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,094
J
jhellwig Offline
Offline
J
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,094
If you are questioning the power quality enough to get the power company involved they should come install monitoring equipment. This should be part of the utility regulations for your state.


Sparks fly from my fingers.

1995 Chevy K2500 Suburban lt 5.7
2014 Toyota Sienna
1983 Chevy K5 350
Re: Home Voltage Monitor with Log capability [Re: WhizkidTN] #5466811 07/01/20 07:13 AM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 500
H
henni Offline OP
OP Offline
H
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 500
Originally Posted by WhizkidTN
I would suggest you research this:

..

I know it does more than you mentioned but the extra features it has and can do look very intriguing to me.


Sense does not support voltage monitoring or logging voltage data

Re: Home Voltage Monitor with Log capability [Re: Donald] #5466814 07/01/20 07:15 AM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 500
H
henni Offline OP
OP Offline
H
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 500
Originally Posted by Donald
A UPS from Cyberpower connected to a PC will monitor outages and under and over voltage.


We have 5 Cyberpower UPS's, this model and apart from showing voltage "right now" don't know how to log data unattended

https://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP1500PFCLCD-Sinewave-Outlets-Mini-Tower/dp/B00429N19W/

Re: Home Voltage Monitor with Log capability [Re: henni] #5468355 07/02/20 11:52 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,127
S
spackard Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,127
APC has PowerChute-business edition software that does logging.
Just have to be careful what UPS you buy. The heavy business units are the ones that have the hardware to do the job.
They're kind of expensive new, but you can scrape used ones, refurbished, blems, from cdw.com that won't kill you on
shipping.
You need their proprietary serial cable to get the UPS to connect to a PC.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™