3.8 grand caravan or 3.6?

We are looking at 2 used minivans one is a 2010 107,000 miles with the 3.8 looks clean the other is a 13 town and country with the 3.6 almost exact miles the t/c is $2400 more than the grand caravan sxt.
I've seen plenty of 3.8 over the years some with very high miles and others with major issues and severely neglected. I've seen a couple head gaskets on the 3.8 but once again they were older and neglected. The 3.6l I haven't seen a bunch from but I've heard of rocker arm and camshaft issuers. Which engine would you prefer? Any personal experience with either? Which would you go with? Thanks everyone!

I think the early 3.6 might have had a few issues. The 3.6 is a sweet motor though. It revs nice and is smooth. I have no experience with the 3.8. I would probably go with the 3.6 for ease of getting parts. The 3.6 is in so many fca vehicles pickings are ripe.

Last edited:
I'd get the 3.8. All of them ive seen at walmart took some real abuse and they still keep trucking along. The earlier 3.6 id stay away from. The newer ones are awesome though.

I don't have any experience with the 3.6 but there are two Chrysler vans within my extended family with the 3.3 and 3.8 and both are at or near 200,000 miles with very poor maintenance done to them and they are still surviving.

Originally Posted by fisher83
I don't have any experience with the 3.6 but there are two Chrysler vans within my extended family with the 3.3 and 3.8 and both are at or near 200,000 miles with very poor maintenance done to them and they are still surviving.

Yep. My parents 2004 with the 3.3 is somehow still living at almost 190k. And yes, original transmission that's only seen one flush (jiffy lube) in its life.

I really like the 3.6, very smooth. 2011-2013's did have the extended warranty added to one of the cylinder heads, and the oil filter housing changed around that year or 2014.