Exhaust manifold bolts?

I will be replacing exhaust manifold gaskets soon and I'm unsure if this is something I should attempt myself, or leave it to a professional shop.

I'm worried about breaking/stripping the hardware when removing everything. I've never done any exhaust work before, but I understand breaking something here can lead to quite an adventure. I've watched a few videos and read about torching the hardware, soaking with PB Blaster or AeroKroil for a few days before doing the job, and trying to slightly tighten - then loosen to get the hardware moving and free.

I do have a can of AeroKroil that I've been saving for really tough stuff, so if I do try this myself, I imagine that's what I'll use.

I would prefer to do this job myself to save a little money, but I'd also prefer to not break half the hardware and spend an entire day just trying to drill out holes.

Advice/tips from the experienced?

What vehicle, engine, etc? That might help.

I've watched some of those videos too, and quite frankly I might just hand the job off no matter what! Chasing broken studs looks like no fun for a novice like me.

I suppose as a counterpart, you could always attempt it, and if you snap a bolt and it won't go, you could always put it back together and limp it to a shop. No harm in failing at something.

Sounds like you are mostly prepared with the oil and heat! Another huge help is to use a "light duty" electric impact (3/8" battery unit). That assures all you are applying is torque (not a side load like a ratchet) and it's in tiny moments in time, so the material can stay in the elastic deformation regime, and not yield.

Last edited:
I removed Heddman headers my friend installed on his SBC (5.7l in an '89) using quality hardware.
The bolts' 3/8" hex edges were sharp and precise.
That's all the experience I have.

I'd spray the Kroil every other day for a week. Remember, hosing it like Niagara Falls does nothing.