Subaru15208AA160 vs 15208AA115 vs Wix 57055

I have depleted my supply of a dozen Subaru blue 15208AA115 filters and plan on making another bulk purchase soon.

While recently browsing eBay, to my surprise, the black "Made in Japan" 15208AA160 filters were available for a reasonable cost that was a dollar and change above the cost of the OEM blue filters that l have been using. My Subaru came from the factory with the black filter that definitely felt sturdier and better built than the blue filters.

I've also had my eye on the Wix 57055 filter that is priced very competitively on Rock Auto. From what l have read, the Wix filters and OEM filters have the correct bypass valve pressure setting for Subaru.

I am leaning towards the Wix filters because of the lowest cost to compliment my use of Supertech or Costco synthetic oil that will keep my costs below $20 per oil change.

I have been driving Subaru's for 15+ years and have never used a non-OEM oil filter.

Does anybody have any concerns or comments about my new cost cutting strategy?

31.gif

Watch out on eBay. Counterfeits and fakes everywhere
mad.gif

There is nothing wrong with the Wix 57055, or even the XP version 57055XP. There is also Napa Gold and Platinum, which are reboxed Wix and Wix XP, respectively
smile.gif

Fram makes the blue filters but doesn't offer the Subaru-specific bypass in the orange can
crazy2.gif

Dittos on the counterfeits. I'd be careful of online sales. Check if some Subaru dealers sell the filters online.

I have been driving Subaru vehicles since 1995. Wix is my go to filter for the three Subaru vehicles in our household at present. Wix 57055 and Napa Gold 7055 are high quality filters and will serve you well on any Subaru application.

I would stick with the blue Subie filter. They are under five bucks at the dealer.