Can a car have too much battery?

I would think no, but I remind myself that I am a hobbyist. One w/ 30+ years of owning and maintaining odd cars, but still an amateur....

A question for the experts who understand charging systems.

I helped a friend restore a mid 50's car with a 12v positive ground system that originally had two small 6v batteries wired in series. The car has a rebuilt original generator, 30 amps output I believe. My friend decided that he wanted more reserve, planning on two larger (group 24) 12v batteries, obviously wired in parallel. This is a very for cry from what the car had originally.

My question is can battery capacity ever be too much for the available charging power to the point where it could impact generator life, maybe affect the external regulator? I can't see it as in normal operation, the generator would recharge the batteries from starting and supply the vehicle as normal, but if the batteries are severely discharged, could the draw of charging two much larger batteries damage the generator? I would think that the generator has a maximum capable output and that is it, but maybe it could be damaged by having to run at max output to 'fill up" the greater capacity battery suite. Not much out there on this...

Why would the battery be discharged?

The generator makes all the power the car needs to run, either now, or paying off a deficit.

The textbook reason for a bigger battery would be starting in the cold, if the car is cantankerous for whatever reason and doesn't catch the first time.

A generator runs all its power through its brushes, which are a wear item. Running more would wear them out faster. But, again, why are we running more, unless some is being "stolen" or "lost" from the electrical system or battery in some way.