Yamaha dry sump PWC and oil level sensitivity.

I have had very little experience with dry sump systems, British bike and Yamaha VX1100 are exceptions. I understand what happens when wet sumps are overfilled, the level gets up where the crank counterweights begin frothing the oil. It would seem that dry sump systems would not have much problem with overfilling until there is little air space in the tank/reservoir. Yamaha VX1100 Waverunner have dire warnings about overfilling the oil tank, they'll start blowing oil into and wet the air filter. This dry sump motor is apparently sensitive to overfilling based on the warnings seemingly everywhere. I've even seen advice to keep the level between the low and full marks and don't fill to the full line.

Why is this dry sump system that sensitive if indeed it is? I've run my Waverunner somewhat overfilled at times and haven't seen any problems.

I studied the oil reservoir a bit and have a better understanding of the system. At the top of the tank is a baffle and a vent hose or hoses that goes either to the valve cover, or the air intake, or both. Possibly these hoses are intended to remove vapors and vent/control air pressure in the oil tank. I suppose this acts similar to a PVC system in a wet sump system and runs the oil vapors through the intake and burns them in the combustion chamber which is less polluting than just venting the vapors to the atmosphere.

All is fine as long as the venting system has vapors in it and not much oil droplets or liquid oil. A slight oil overfill might intermittently vent droplets or liquid oil such as during turns or when forces from hitting waves caused oil to splash up the oil tank vent connections. A more drastic overfill likely removes the air space near the vent, and fills the vent pipes with oil. This makes some oil go to the air box and wets the filter which can't flow when oil soaked, some gets run into the air intake for a smoky burn.