Honda GC vs GS engines?

Just curious what the differences between Honda's GC and GS series engines are. I know that the GC series engines are designed for light duty homeowner use (and are absolute junk IMO) and the GS series engines are designed for light duty commercial use and presumably have some design differences to make them more durable, although I have no experience with those engines and no idea what those differences are. What exactly are the differences between these engines? Honda's website doesn't list any differences that I can see and there is pretty much no information about this online that I can find. Thanks

Last edited:
Originally Posted by sloinker
GX is the commercial level I believe.

Yes, those are very nice engines. The GS is supposed to be in the middle- higher end than the GC but lower end than the GX. The GS is clearly way more similar to the consumer grade GC than the heavy duty GX though.

The GS has a cast iron cylinder sleeve where the GC is all aluminum, so the GS will typically maintain compression over a loner service life. They both have the plastic (resin) cam, whereas the GX models have a steel cam.

Originally Posted by ripcord
The GS has a cast iron cylinder sleeve where the GC is all aluminum, so the GS will typically maintain compression over a loner service life. They both have the plastic (resin) cam, whereas the GX models have a steel cam.

Oh I see, I thought they both had iron cylinder sleeves. Those plastic cams are absolute crap and are one of the many reasons I dislike the GC engines so much. My neighbor's mower with a GCV160 engine ground the cam up after only a year of use. It's disappointing that Honda put their name on such a piece of crap with an aluminium cylinder and plastic cam

My lawnmower is going on 15 years old with whatever light duty engine Honda produced back then. Still going strong. I'm actually hoping it will die soon so I can replace it with a battery powered mower. It has not complied.