Recent Topics
Which oil is the better quality
by galaxy333 - 06/01/20 09:57 AM
"Boutique" Brands
by buster - 06/01/20 09:15 AM
CASTROL Edge 5w20 or EP 5w20
by 53' Stude - 06/01/20 09:09 AM
BT Oil
by js1956 - 06/01/20 09:00 AM
How to Properly Read a Dipstick
by Gebo - 06/01/20 07:59 AM
Why did some older cars have + grounded systems?
by JLawrence08648 - 06/01/20 07:39 AM
Goodwood Racing
by AZjeff - 05/31/20 10:23 PM
Blackstone Lab Question
by klt1986 - 05/31/20 08:19 PM
Fram oil filters at Advance Auto
by Electromotive - 05/31/20 08:02 PM
The Last Coat 2?
by tbm5690 - 05/31/20 07:33 PM
Can a car have too much battery?
by wings&wheels - 05/31/20 07:13 PM
Oil Extractor Pump Problem
by tc1446 - 05/31/20 07:11 PM
Tacoma fuel filter cut open
by funflyer - 05/31/20 06:53 PM
Electronic Octane Testers on eBay
by smonska - 05/31/20 05:35 PM
0W-8 is here: JASO GLV-1
by Gokhan - 05/31/20 05:26 PM
2010 Corolla What oil ??
by GMguy84 - 05/31/20 05:19 PM
Knock While Cruising, None While In Boost
by gathermewool - 05/31/20 04:11 PM
Newest Members
C6H8O7, Jcvjr, Haywood, ToOliwer, AbbeyRoad
71588 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
98 registered members (97prizm, 330indy, 1978elcamino, aquariuscsm, ABN_CBT_ENGR, 00celicagt, 7 invisible), 2,173 guests, and 36 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics306,118
Posts5,286,833
Members71,588
Most Online4,538
Jan 20th, 2020
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Wiping harddrive #5431282 05/17/20 10:33 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
S
supton Online Content OP
OP Online Content
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
So I gave in and bought an SSD to upgrade my laptop. 240GB but in disk manager it comes up as 116GB. Strike one. Download some cloning software, clone my 232GB drive over (took 3 hours?), swap drives. won't boot. Strike two? Whatever. It's clearly not a 240GB drive, and I did not know that until I opened the package (it says on it that it is a 240GB drive), so, I figured it cost me nothing to go through the process of cloning and swapping before I return the drive.

Except... wiping the drive. Forgot that I do have some passwords on that computer (in the browsers). Would hate for anyone to hack their way into my BITOG account...

I found a link that said "quick" format just wipes the (file listing? index listing? whatever sector holds the listing of what is on the drive) of the disk without actually deleting the bulk of the drive. But if I turn off quick format it does a "write zero" to the drive? So I'm doing that, and it looks like it will take a few hours to format.

My question is, is that pretty well good and done? There's nothing on there that I'm worried about, only passwords, and those should be easy enough to just reset the critical ones.


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 205k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 159k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 225k, his
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: supton] #5431290 05/17/20 10:46 AM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 317
I
IveBeenRued Offline
Offline
I
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 317
CCleaner has a wipe free space option. Give it a single-pass wipe and it will be fine.

If you are in the market for SSDs and you have some patience, wait around until the autumn. Samsung 860 EVO 1TB drives were selling for $110 and 1TB QVOs were $89 around the holidays. EVOs are currently around $170 and QVOs are $129 for perspective.


2020 Toyota RAV4 Limited Hybrid 5,000 miles
Super Tech 0W-16|Fram Ultra
2012 Subaru Impreza Sport Limited 137,000 miles
Pennzoil Platinum HM 0W-20|Fram Ultra
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: supton] #5431296 05/17/20 10:51 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
S
supton Online Content OP
OP Online Content
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
Yeah, I thought I'd splurge and get the 240, it was $10 more than the 128 that I knew I could run with. But $89, that's kinda pricey. I just found out today that I could use more memory, there's only 4GB in this machine and I didn't realize it was that low. So that $40 would be better spent there, IMO.

I've got a bunch of junk on this machine but it adds up to 50GB. To me, that is a huge amount, but I guess in the scheme of things today, not really. But it seems unlikely that I "need" to wait for 1TB drives to get any cheaper.

CCleaner, that looks like freeware. Once this non-quick format gets done I'll look into that.


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 205k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 159k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 225k, his
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: supton] #5431305 05/17/20 11:09 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,983
5
55Test Offline
Offline
5
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,983
CCleaner has a history of packing malware in with its main software. Generally the manufacturer of the SSD you purchased will have an app that will do what you're looking for.


The total sum of everything I have learned from this website: ...Oil in engine, good!
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: supton] #5431308 05/17/20 11:15 AM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,655
M
mk378 Online Content
Online Content
M
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,655
The ATA / SATA specification includes a Secure Erase function may be built into the drive. Most drives do support it.

I'm confused, did they ship a 120 GB drive in a 240 package? What does it say on the drive?

Last edited by mk378; 05/17/20 11:16 AM.
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: supton] #5431313 05/17/20 11:20 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 39,160
Quattro Pete Offline
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 39,160
If you don't trust ccleaner, then DBAN is another option for wiping drives:
https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-erase-a-hard-drive-using-dban-2619148


2002 530i   2015 Q5 3.0T   2018 Charger SRT
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: mk378] #5431320 05/17/20 11:27 AM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,113
S
spackard Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,113
Originally Posted by mk378
The ATA / SATA specification includes a Secure Erase function may be built into the drive. Most drives do support it.


+1.
Hardest part of doing a Secure Erase is getting BIOS/EFI to do it.
Most mfgrs don't like to leave it exposed very far into the boot cycle, as virus writers would hit it if it were exposed.

Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: 55Test] #5431325 05/17/20 11:36 AM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 919
P
Pew Offline
Offline
P
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 919
Originally Posted by 55Test
CCleaner has a history of packing malware in with its main software. Generally the manufacturer of the SSD you purchased will have an app that will do what you're looking for.


No, CCleaner only gives an option for the user to download Google Chrome and is downloaded separate of the main CCleaner install. The CCleaner virus was made from Chinese hackers that was available via a download from a 3rd party website and only affected version 5.33.6 back in 2017. That was fixed immediately with v5.34.

Last edited by Pew; 05/17/20 11:37 AM.
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: supton] #5431331 05/17/20 11:41 AM
Joined: Oct 2018
Posts: 243
W
WagonWheel Offline
Offline
W
Joined: Oct 2018
Posts: 243
Where did you procure said 240GB drive? Was it a name brand reputable vendor or no-name reseller? How does your UEFI/BIOS report the drive? Check to make sure you are running latest BIOS.

Try running diskpart list disk to see if there is a size discrepancy:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-server/administration/windows-commands/diskpart

For wiping HDDs, you need us a scrubber that writes random data. You’ll need to boot from a USB or other drive than the one you are scrubbing. Something like DBAN will work.


2003 Honda Accord 2.4L 5AT - 153k miles
2006 Honda Odyssey 3.5L EX-L 127k miles (S-VCM)
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: supton] #5431333 05/17/20 11:44 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
S
supton Online Content OP
OP Online Content
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
I bought a Kingston off Amazon. Says 240GB on it but disk manager has it come up as 116GB.

Edit: I formated it twice in disk manager, and each time it stayed stubbornly at 116GB.

Last edited by supton; 05/17/20 11:46 AM.

2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 205k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 159k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 225k, his
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: supton] #5431336 05/17/20 11:49 AM
Joined: Oct 2018
Posts: 243
W
WagonWheel Offline
Offline
W
Joined: Oct 2018
Posts: 243
Was it sold by Amazon or fulfilled by Amazon?

Try booting to BIOS, usually F2 on boot. It should report the actual size. Also use the Kingston SSD manager to ID and wipe before returning

Edit: BIOS should report the model # which you can x-ref on the vendor website.

Last edited by WagonWheel; 05/17/20 11:51 AM. Reason: Additional information

2003 Honda Accord 2.4L 5AT - 153k miles
2006 Honda Odyssey 3.5L EX-L 127k miles (S-VCM)
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: supton] #5431340 05/17/20 11:54 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
S
supton Online Content OP
OP Online Content
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
Sold on Amazon.

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 205k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 159k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 225k, his
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: supton] #5431344 05/17/20 12:00 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
S
supton Online Content OP
OP Online Content
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
So I swapped drives and it does say 240GB... huh. What is wrong with disk manager then?

I did pop out the HD and went back into BIOS, and this time it says no harddrive, so it appears to be seeing the drive. Maybe I don't need to return the drive?

Edit: from what I can tell, I don't have any disks for this, not sure about making a recovery disk. I bought this computer used; I'm going to make a run to Home Depot and if I can remember to, I might get a 16GB jump drive as all I have are 8's and that does not appear big enough to make a recovery disk.

Last edited by supton; 05/17/20 12:06 PM.

2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 205k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 159k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 225k, his
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: supton] #5431350 05/17/20 12:05 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,113
S
spackard Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,113
Why don't you try really swapping it, and see if it becomes a 240GB when connected to your internal SATA port, as seen from BIOS?
Edit:
Might be an issue with whatever adapter you're currently using.

Last edited by spackard; 05/17/20 12:06 PM.
Re: Wiping harddrive [Re: spackard] #5431355 05/17/20 12:09 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
S
supton Online Content OP
OP Online Content
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16,024
Originally Posted by spackard
Why don't you try really swapping it, and see if it becomes a 240GB when connected to your internal SATA port, as seen from BIOS?
Might be an issue with whatever adapter you're currently using.

Adapter? Software adapter or cable? Cable is some Sabrent cable, but I don't see how a cable would limit how much of the drive it'd see.


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 205k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 159k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 225k, his
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™