Family Game Night (board games)

Hey BITOG!

We struggle to find family games we can all enjoy. I am an engineer and despise luck games...my wife doesn't like trivia...our 19 year old daughter, well she is 19...and our 8 year old son is bright, but the game can't be too complex.

On the suggestion from a family at our church we found "Ticket to Ride" - wow, we ALL loved it last night! So much fun. Simple enough for my son to catch on quickly, yet there is enough strategy that it was interesting for me (I lost by the way).

So...what other games have you found interesting lately?

Still a Monopoly fan. Easy enough to understand the rules. Luck plays a role, so that allows everyone to have decent odds of winning. Lots of family memories playing with my dad, brother and sister when we were younger.

We've got a whole game closet. Settlers of Cataan, and Ticket To Ride have been favorites for the whole gang together. The kids fight a lot and argue, so they have a bunch of cooperative games to help the parents stay sane. Castle Panic, and Forbidden Island have been very popular with them. And for a short, two person game the favorite is still Cathedral. First played it at Scout camp 30 years ago or so, and just fell in love with it.

I second Settlers of Catan. Enormously fun game that my family loves to play. Ticket to Ride is a good one, as you've learned. If you want a cooperative game, Pandemic is a fun one (and appropriate in this climate). Carcassonne is a really good game, and a good 3-4 player game is Blokus (should one of your family members opt out of playing. We've played it with 2 before, but 3 or 4 is 10x better). Not really a board game, but Catch Phrase is a really fun game that gets everyone involved and doesn't require a ton of time to learn or play.