Recent Topics
Environmentally friendly gas can rant
by IMSA_Racing_Fan - 05/26/20 12:58 AM
Left Hand Drillbits
by Snagglefoot - 05/25/20 10:32 PM
Turtle Wax Ice Spray Wax use tips.
by JimPghPA - 05/25/20 08:53 PM
Best oil on the market?
by sloinker - 05/25/20 08:47 PM
Xfinity Race in Charlotte
by kstanf150 - 05/25/20 08:12 PM
Purolator PBL14610 C&P
by FordBroncoVWJeta - 05/25/20 08:00 PM
Carquest Blue 85522 C&P
by FordBroncoVWJeta - 05/25/20 07:52 PM
2020 RAV4 Hybrid - oil options
by CELICA_XX - 05/25/20 07:44 PM
any battery charger/repair that can fix sulfation?
by apollo18 - 05/25/20 07:28 PM
Need Mice Advice
by Mr_Luke - 05/25/20 07:01 PM
pressure washer air compressor oil
by bedwards - 05/25/20 06:49 PM
2014 Elantra delayed shift 4th to 5th
by Propflux01 - 05/25/20 05:51 PM
2002 Ranger Electrical Weirdness (GEM, RAP?)
by DuckRyder - 05/25/20 05:47 PM
Oil change problems
by philipp10 - 05/25/20 05:41 PM
Denso 150 3024
by thrace - 05/25/20 04:58 PM
does ac delco warranty the replacement battery?
by apollo18 - 05/25/20 04:39 PM
Water drainage issue
by Paul_Siu - 05/25/20 04:39 PM
13 Corolla PCV
by AJB0009 - 05/25/20 04:24 PM
Newest Members
mikespine, Typerguy, showtyme1958, rickyradit, YogiTheCat
71528 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
34 registered members (bachman, bworley, ajchien, ArrestMeRedZ, BlakeB, blufeb95, 2 invisible), 1,297 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics305,879
Posts5,281,957
Members71,528
Most Online4,538
Jan 20th, 2020
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Connection to AX capable router? #5422055 05/05/20 08:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43,993
J
JHZR2 Offline OP
Global Moderator
OP Offline
Global Moderator
J
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43,993
I bought a new router, its all working and seems to be pretty good at this point, except one thing... I had asked previously about the downsides, if any, or WPA3 security, particularly if you need to keep WPA2 on as well for legacy stuff.

So I have this Asus AX-RT56U router up and running. WPA3/WPA2 enabled, so my more advanced items can use WPA3. I update the firmware, and WPA3 goes away - no longer an option... Not sure why...

But here's the weird thing: Everything was working, including my oldest devices, before the firmware flash. After it, my 2010 MBA would not connect. No matter how many times I entered the SSID passphrase, it wouldnt connect. I changed the security to open for a minute, to see what would happen. The computer connected fine. Put it back to WPA2 and no dice.

But it connected fine using WPA2 minutes before. And its only this one machine - 2010 MacBook Air, running 10.12.6. I reset PRAM without luck. I then went and got the Merlin WRT variant of the Asus firmware just to try. No luck.

It just says that my Wi-Fi network cannot be joined. Diagnostics is useless. Ive removed/forgotten the network and reconnected. Since I can unhide the SSID passphrase, I know it is correct, no caps or other issues. And every other machine works.

Any suggestions? Im not going to keep the stupid thing if I cant get all my regularly used machines to connect. Its ridiculous. But I know that it can and will connect, because it had done it. In fact, I had flashed the firmware update from that very machine!

Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: JHZR2] #5422069 05/05/20 08:57 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 39,125
Quattro Pete Offline
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 39,125
Can you post a screenshot of your wi-fi settings (including security settings) from the router?


2002 530i   2015 Q5 3.0T   2018 Charger SRT
Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: JHZR2] #5422082 05/05/20 09:09 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43,993
J
JHZR2 Offline OP
Global Moderator
OP Offline
Global Moderator
J
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43,993
[Linked Image]

All of this, including the WiFi 6 AX mode enabled, was the same before the firmware flash. Firmware removed the WPA3 (which was irrelevant for the computer in question, since Apple didnt implement it that far back), and did whatever else it did...


System log shows a bunch of failed attempts like this:

May 5 22:04:59 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(464): eth5: Deauth_ind MAC, status: 0, reason: Unspecified reason (1)
May 5 22:04:59 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(499): eth5: Auth MAC, status: Successful (0)

Where MAC is the wifi adapter MAC address on that computer.

Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: JHZR2] #5422134 05/05/20 10:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 39,125
Quattro Pete Offline
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 39,125
Not sure if it's going to make any difference, but can you force the router to restore itself to factory settings?

Also, on the 5GHz spectrum, try changing control channel to 36. Some devices have trouble with upper end channels such as channel 149 that your router selected for you.


2002 530i   2015 Q5 3.0T   2018 Charger SRT
Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: JHZR2] #5422166 05/05/20 11:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43,993
J
JHZR2 Offline OP
Global Moderator
OP Offline
Global Moderator
J
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43,993
I can force to factory settings. That worked. All are connected now. I redid my SSID and passphrase exactly the same. Very strange... Something tells me that this ASUS firmware is far from the best, including with the Merlin updates.

Not that wyze cams are the epitome of good software either, but I had a heck of a time getting them reconnected. Essentially had to turn off any smart routing between 2.4 and 5 GHz.

Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: JHZR2] #5422340 05/06/20 07:23 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,813
wwillson Offline
Administrator
Offline
Administrator
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,813
You may want to only use 20MHz channels on 2.4Ghz. Channel bonding with 2.4Ghz spectrum is pretty pointless.

Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: wwillson] #5422428 05/06/20 08:50 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 42,214
O
OVERKILL Offline
Offline
O
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 42,214
Originally Posted by wwillson
You may want to only use 20MHz channels on 2.4Ghz. Channel bonding with 2.4Ghz spectrum is pretty pointless.

And noisy! LOL!


2019 RAM 1500 Sport - Mobil 1 EP 0w-20, FRAM Ultra
2020 Grand Cherokee SRT - Ravenol SSL 0w-40, FRAM Ultra
Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: JHZR2] #5422431 05/06/20 08:51 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 42,214
O
OVERKILL Offline
Offline
O
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 42,214
Originally Posted by JHZR2
Something tells me that this ASUS firmware is far from the best, including with the Merlin updates.


Pretty much par for the course with all consumer gear. When you charge what they charge for the hardware and there's no service and support contract this is the result. Applies to all gear across the consumer spectrum, it's always buggy and almost always goes unpatched once the device hits a certain age.


2019 RAM 1500 Sport - Mobil 1 EP 0w-20, FRAM Ultra
2020 Grand Cherokee SRT - Ravenol SSL 0w-40, FRAM Ultra
Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: JHZR2] #5422445 05/06/20 09:01 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 14,707
R
Rand Offline
Offline
R
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 14,707
good luck. I found some helpful stuff to try with google.

"Macbook air wpa2 aes"


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
2020 Hyundai Elantra "Value Edition"
Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: JHZR2] #5422487 05/06/20 09:36 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 7,928
gathermewool Offline
Offline
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 7,928
Asus likely had an issue and/or complaints from users and pulled that setting.

My issue with Asus: their meshing has stopped working for me. It lags and sometimes, when transitioning, never seems to reach full speed again until I reboot the device using WiFi or turn off the router. I’m considering buying a newer AC router to see if that fixes it.


14 Forester XT Touring FA20DIT (Cobb Stage 1)
Castrol Magnatec 5W-30 D1G2 + FU filter (2nd OFI) (77,760mi, 3/7/20)
15 Legacy Premium FB25
Magnatec 0W-20 D1G2+ FU filter (2nd OFI) (54,621mi, 3/4/20)
Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: Rand] #5422565 05/06/20 11:13 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43,993
J
JHZR2 Offline OP
Global Moderator
OP Offline
Global Moderator
J
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43,993
Originally Posted by Rand
good luck. I found some helpful stuff to try with google.

"Macbook air wpa2 aes"


I had too. Deleted files, reset RAM, etc. Quintuple+ checked that there was no issue with spelling or passphrases.

Factory reset and re-establishment of the parameters got it working again. Since I had to change nothing on the other computers, it wasnt on my end (e.g., fat fingering).

All users in my home are satisfied at this point. Lower latencies on the same cloudflare DNS, compared to my old netgear router, just in terms of routine use. I think Im happy...

Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: JHZR2] #5428370 05/13/20 04:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43,993
J
JHZR2 Offline OP
Global Moderator
OP Offline
Global Moderator
J
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43,993
Now the Kindle Paperwhite doesnt connect. Took another reset. Seems everything is connecting now, knock on wood.

Asus firmware must not be as good as I thought. I always thought Asus was amongst the best. Back in the day, their motherboards seemed to consistently produce the best benchmarks...

Re: Connection to AX capable router? [Re: JHZR2] #5428378 05/13/20 04:10 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 39,125
Quattro Pete Offline
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 39,125
Unfortunately, with the rapid advancements in technology and frequent releases of new products and features, there is little time to do proper QA on the software, especially at the consumer level. Stuff gets rushed to the market, and if they need to deploy fixes and patches later, after the customer finds a bug, then eventually they will, if they're not too busy writing software for the newer model. And it's not just with routers either...


2002 530i   2015 Q5 3.0T   2018 Charger SRT
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™