01 Sable strange dash light, rough run, stall.

My soon to be daughter in law who is typical college student totally broke has an 01 Sable with 182k she picked up for 900 bucks about two months ago. The car was a whole lot of car for 900 bucks but as you might imagine we've had some issues with it. It has been a pass around college car among people we know for a few years, mostly young females. I don't have access to the car at the moment but will later today. As far as I know it's an 01 Sable with the 3.8 v6.

Yesterday it started running really rough and stalling. My son said it seemed to be missing on at least one cylinder. They were barely able to get it out of the convenience store lot and limp it back to school. He sent me a pic of the dash, I don't know Fords I and I don't know what this warning light is.

I am no mechanic nor do I pretend to be one, but I want to help her out. I am guessing maybe plug wires and plugs would be a good idea? How hard would that be to do for a non-mechanic kind of guy?

Any help appreciated, thanks.

[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]upload image and get url code

Funny. I had a 01 Sable with the same problem. Mis-fire cylinder #1. I can remember the dealer telling me something being warped and needed engine overhaul. Sorry this is so vague but I'm not a wrencher and it was a while ago. Traded it in, never fixed it. Often wondered if it was a systemic problem with that particular engine. Someone here would know.

had a ford Taurus . 3.8 I was told those engines were total junk....I replaced heads 2 times on mine and when the 3rd time came around the car went to the junk yard...if I remember right I has about 130K on the thing I have to say it was the worst car I ever owned

If I am looking at the manual correctly it indicates 'Check Transaxle' however I am not familiar with a sable.

See page 12 and 124 of the manual.

Last edited: