Hydraulic plumbing question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Acquired a discard aerospace hydraulic test mule. (My 1/2T pickup was very unhappy.) One part is a temp gauge and probe.

-

The center piece is the high-pressure housing that threads into the plumbing. The right is the probe, and the left is the probe retainer.

The probe has a small amount of play - maybe .010 - inside the housing. Do I need to fill the gap with oil or similar to better conduct temp to the probe? (vs. error temp from the wire & fitting) What's the normal method for a doubly-walled piece like this?

I'll be using it for temps around boiling (homebrewing). High pressure isn't necessary but accuracy and response time are important.

Thanks,
David

Just some thoughts here (I'm no temperature probe expert). Seems like some sort of fluid to couple the probe with the housing would be a good idea to minimize response time. Probably a good idea to use something non-toxic if it's going to be used around food. Possibly cooking oil? Maybe add an o-ring to keep the oil in the housing. Good luck with your new find.
smile.gif

Thanks Rick.

Now I'm thinking the design is as it is to better isolate the bimetal portion from the threaded end and external temps. (Note the slender probe waist.) If I add oil it'll conduct external sources more efficiently (bad). It'd also add mass & could slow response as much as it helps. Suppose I can try it with & without oil & see what happens.

Of course, if anyone has experience with this stuff please speak up.

Edit: Criminy, sometimes I'm slow. I have loads of thermal grease from systems work that'll stay in place just fine at 200F without walking to the threaded area.

[ April 13, 2003, 01:53 AM: Message edited by: OneQuartLow ]