Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in

Honda Civic 2009 LX

So I was replacing my rotors today until I met a dilemma where one of the studs broke after forcing a breaker bar at it (I couldn't loosen it with a impact wrench so I forced it).

I havent done it before but I had seen someone use a lugnut to tighten it before (I stripped the lugnut - dont do it) but I manage to get it past the stud splines but I left little or more than 2mm of a gap. I gave up, lost all hope, bought a new lugnut and finished the whole thing.

I put the wheels back and torqued the lugnuts to recommended setting (80ft/lbs) and moved on.

I finally got rid of my warped rotors, now I'm kind of worried i have a different problem coming soon.

Should I be worried?

That's the issue with many press fit aftermarket parts, They make them oversized to fit wallowed out holes. I find myself drilling/reaming stuff often.

I'm not an experienced mechanic but assuming I put the splines in the hole I figured it'll be fine.

Just wanting to know if someone can give me a peace of mind or I have to get a stud kit and re-do it.

Originally Posted by SpicySenpai
I'm not an experienced mechanic but assuming I put the splines in the hole I figured it'll be fine.

Just wanting to know if someone can give me a peace of mind or I have to get a stud kit and re-do it.

You got 4 other studs/lugs holding the wheel on. I don't use lugnuts to draw studs into a hub, I use hardened nuts of the correct size with washers or a bearing. Use of anti seize helps a lot.

The correct procedure is to press them in from the backside.

Originally Posted by clinebarger
Originally Posted by SpicySenpai

You got 4 other studs/lugs holding the wheel on. I don't use lugnuts to draw studs into a hub, I use hardened nuts of the correct size with washers or a bearing. Use of anti seize helps a lot.

The correct procedure is to press them in from the backside.